ARC Review – Illusive by Emily Lloyd-Jones

18803174Title: Illusive

Author: Emily Lloyd-Jones

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: When the MK virus swept across the planet, a vaccine was created to stop the epidemic, but it came with some unexpected side effects. A small percentage of the population developed superhero-like powers. Seventeen-year-old Ciere Giba has the handy ability to change her appearance at will. She’s what’s known as an illusionist…She’s also a thief.

After a robbery goes awry, Ciere must team up with a group of fellow super-powered criminals on another job that most would consider too reckless. The formula for the vaccine that gave them their abilities was supposedly destroyed years ago. But what if it wasn’t?

The lines between good and bad, us and them, and freedom and entrapment are blurred as Ciere and the rest of her crew become embroiled in a deadly race against he government that could cost them their lives.

Huge thank you to Little, Brown Books for Young Readers and Edelweiss for this ARC!

River’s Review:

I really liked this, but there was a little something missing that prevented me from giving it a full five stars. And towards the end I started to get fatigued a bit and felt like I just wanted things to hurry up and wrap up. I have a feeling there could be a book after this and I kinda hope there is! I would love to learn more about everyone and find out what Ciere’s fate is.

Overall this book is really good. The immunities, virus, and vaccine were a little confusing (well, more than a little, but I just gave up on trying to totally figure it all out), and keeping track of the different powers was also a little too much for me. The names for everything, while clever, were difficult to remember.

But I liked the story, I liked their powers, and I liked the dialogue. Everything and everyone was so sassy and sexy. I would LOVE to see this as a movie.

Leave a Reply

