ARC Review – The Fever: A Novel by Megan Abbott

18822308Title: The Fever

Author: Megan Abbott

Rating: ★★★ 1/2

Synopsis: The Nash family is close-knit. Tom is a popular teacher, father of two teens: Eli, a hockey star and girl magnet, and his sister Deenie, a diligent student. Their seeming stability, however, is thrown into chaos when Deenie’s best friend is struck by a terrifying, unexplained seizure in class. Rumors of a hazardous outbreak spread through the family, school and community.

As hysteria and contagion swell, a series of tightly held secrets emerges, threatening to unravel friendships, families and the town’s fragile idea of security.

Huge thank you to Little, Brown Books for Young Readers and Edelweiss for this ARC!

River’s Review:

I FLEW through this book. I really wanted to know what was causing all of the girls to get sick and in the end it wasn’t what I expected. I went back and forth between an actual virus/bacteria and the supernatural.

Basically, this book drags you in with it’s intrigue and holds you close with the tension. Why are all the girls dropping like flies? What’s causing it? Is Deenie the common factor? The lake? Something more?

I kept reading to have all of these questions answered and the answers were satisfactory, but just not what I was expecting.

Also, a lot of the reviews claim this is a ‘mean girl’ book but it doesn’t even really get like that until the very end. And even that wasn’t very ‘mean girl’-sh. I expect mean girl books to be like Courtney Summers books. THOSE are mean girl books.

The writing in this is dense, and sometimes I didn’t jive with it too well. I love beautiful writing, metaphors, similes, what have you. But sometimes the ones in this book just hit me at odd angles and didn’t work with me.

Overall I liked this book, but it didn’t quite deliver what I was hoping it would.

One thought on “ARC Review – The Fever: A Novel by Megan Abbott

  1. Pingback: The Swap by Megan Shull {Early ARC Review} | Bella's ShelfBella's Shelf

Leave a Reply

