SIT DOWN! SHUT UP! READ THIS! – June Edition Reviewed

So originally I titled this feature “Book Swap,” and then River came up with a better name purely by accident that I like more. So now this feature is called “SIT DOWN! SHUT UP! READ THIS!” where in River and I select one book that we want each other to read and then we give you some “high level thoughts” so to speak on the selection we gave each other. I think River won this round, as wasn’t as fond of the book I picked for her as I was of the one she picked for me. So let’s get onto this, shall we?

Sam’s Pick for River:

457060

River’s Thoughts: My co-blogger Sam made me read this for our new feature where we tell each other to sit down, shut up and READ THIS. (Yes, we love each other).

Now, last year I LOOOOOOOVED Halpern’s The F-it List. Loved it. So I was really excited for this one and it just was a little flat for me. Maybe it’s because I’ve read a lot of books where the MC is depressed and tries to kill themselves, or get placed in therapy/ an institution and in those books the characters had really rich, deep, really, scary, sad problems. A few months ago I read an excellent book about a girl who cuts getting put into the hospital. Another amazing book about a depressed teen plotting her suicide and then following through with it blew me away earlier this month. So I guess in comparison this one just fell short. And Halpern’s sassy, witty writing wasn’t quite there yet with this book. So yeah, it was a good, fast read, but there are much better books out there dealing with issues that seemed a lot more real than the ones in this book. I’m not saying that Anna’s problems weren’t real, but they didn’t seem as serious, at least not serious enough for her to end up where she did.

River’s Pick for Sam:

17623143

Sam’s Thoughts: So my co-blogger and I have a crazy love for pretty-ugly people. It’s just a thing that any time we read a contemporary novel that has pretty rich kids being shitty we get oddly excited and they end up being perfect page turners for us. I can’t entirely describe to you WHY this is, just know that it is a thing we love. River bought me Dangerous Girls for Christmas and I had been waiting for an opportune moment because she said once I started reading, I wouldn’t be able to stop.

… and boy was she right. Dangerous Girls is messed up, but it’s got all these fantastic twists and turns and it’s a book that only gives you small threads at a time. You spend a lot of the novel putting pieces together and Haas does any amazing job of making you believe Anna throughout the story, even though you know there’s something a bit off. There’s always a looming feeling like nothing seems or feels right in this book, but you keep turning the pages because you have to know if your own theories you’re deducing are, in fact, correct. It’s a fun ride and I completely recommend this to anyone who likes reading a novel that feels like a whirlwind. I cannot wait to get my hands on the sequel Dangerous Boys, though I’m curious as to where Haas will go with the next book.

There you have it! Our first round of SIT DOWN! SHUT UP! READ THIS! has happened. Let us know if you want to read these books above or if you have read them, what you thought of them. Tune in because we’ll be sharing our July Picks for SDSURT (what a terrible acronym), as well as our fave books we read in June.

Leave a Reply

