ARC Review – The Half Life of Molly Pierce by Katrina Leno

16068973Title:  The Half Life of Molly Pierce

Author: Katrina Leno

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: For all of her seventeen years, Molly feels like she’s missed bits and pieces of her life. Now, she’s figuring out why. Now, she’s remembering her own secrets. And in doing so, Molly uncovers the separate life she seems to have led…and the love that she can’t let go.

The Half Life of Molly Pierce is a suspenseful, evocative psychological mystery about uncovering the secrets of our pasts, facing the unknowns of our futures, and accepting our whole selves.

Huge thank you to the publisher for letting me read an advanced copy of this. Writing this honest review to say thank you

This book doesn’t come out until July, so I wont be posting a full review.

Go into this book with no expectations. Don’t read any spoilers. If you have a vague idea of what’s happening, try to keep an open mind.

When the cover and title of this first popped up with all of the summer Harper Teen releases I was instantly drawn to it because of the cover and title. The title especially (my name is also Molly). I kindaaaaaaa remember a synopsis that was different from the one here and I think this one is SO much better. It revels NOTHING.

And knowing nothing is best. Despite thinking that I knew what was going on, I was also not totally sure if I should trust my own memory, and spent the first half of this book flying through it, immersed in the mystery, in Molly’s voice, and the beautiful writing. I kept begging for answers and trying to figure out what was going on. I wasn’t sure if this was paranormal or not. I wasn’t sure if this was going in the direction that I thought it was.

Molly’s struggles, her relationships, her feelings and depression… they’re all so real. She’s a normal girl with good friends, a happy family. Why is she depressed? Why does she have suicidal thoughts? Because depression isn’t a choice. And the way her depression was handled in this book was so well done. I loved her relationship with her therapist. It was so different and a bit refreshing to see a teen who was actually benefiting from getting help. Half the time in YA, anytime a protagonist has to see a therapist, it’s always a waste of time and the teen spends all of their time being resentful and the therapist is painted as some two-bit has-been who probably shouldn’t be counseling teens.

Fast paced and intriguing from start to finish, this is a unique novel. I loved how the story unfolded, how hints were dropped, how memories were played backwards. And I really really really loved the writing.

Keep an eye out for this one guys. It’s… wow.

Leave a Reply

