Book-tube-a-Thon Day #4 & 5 Update

Number of books completed: 7

Number of pages read: 2206

Currently Reading:  Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley

Cups of Tea Had: 1 / 1

Reading Challenges Completed: 5/7

A book with pictures.
Start and finish a series.
A book with red on the cover.
A book someone else picks out for you. (Selected by my co-blogger, River!)
A book from the genre you’ve read the least this year.
A book to movie adaptation (Read the book, now to grab the movie from the library!)
Read seven books.

Completed Books:

Golden by Jessi Kirby (Challenge Completed: A book someone else picks out for you.) – 277 pages.

Drama by Raina Telgemeier (Challenge Completed: A book with pictures) – 233 pages.

American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis (Challenge Completed… Sorta: A book to movie adaptation) – 399 pages

Sleepless Knight by James Sturm – 40 pages

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han (Challenge Started: 2 out of 3 books completed for this series) – 276 pages.

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo (Challenge Completed: A book with red on the cover) – 417 pages

Codename: Sailor V, Vol. 1, by Naoko Takeuchi – 276 pages

It’s Not Summer Without You, by Jenny Han – 288 pages

Commentary:

Day 4: Completed Ruin & Rising! I am so so sad this series is over. It was one that took a bit to grow on me and once it sunk its teeth into me, I was hooked and in love. It’s also weird because I went from hating Alina and loving Mal, to by the end of the series appreciating Alina a bit more and finding Mal stale and unappealing. Genya was still my favourite character even by the end of the series, and this book continued to show what a great support character she was. Also Darkling. Yay Darkling (shhhh, River!)

Other than that, I played lots of Always Sometimes Monsters… which is an intriguing little game that if you own Steam, it’s worth checking out just for the moral debates it provides. Finished it too!

Day 5: CODE NAME SAILOR V! I got this as a gift at my library shower (along with book 2) and I loved it! I was so nostalgic reading it, and Minako isn’t even my favourite (Makoto is!) but still, such a fun and crazy romp. I forgot how lazy Minako is (no wonder why she’s Usagi’s twin in a lot of ways). Can’t wait to dive into volume 2!

I also finally watched American Psycho to complete the book to movie adaptation, and I think for me, the movie was better than the book. The ultra-violence in the film was stylized but not excessive (if that makes sense). Christian Bale really sold me on his performance though as Patrick Batman. So creepy! But overall, the movie removed a lot of what I disliked about the book and really just focused on Bateman’s growing insanity, which I appreciated (although the dog murder made me UNHAPPY).

And finally… I finished It’s Not Summer Without You by Jenny Han and it was… lackluster. This particular instalment was a lot of moping about Conrad and not having the summer house and it went on for two hundred pages. Normally I’d be fine with this but these were the only focuses in this book and Belly just didn’t really develop much, and I am not a fan of Conrad or Mr. Fisher. Jeremiah is still cool though. He sings Brittany Spears.

Hopefully Day six is as productive!

Leave a Reply

