SIT DOWN! SHUT UP! READ THIS! – August Edition

Well, August is on its way, and for me its going to be a busy month of birthday, wedding, visitors and all that goodness. However, I don’t care! Because I will still find time to read, and River and I declared August to be Holly Black-fest! That’s right, this month’s SIT DOWN! SHUT UP! READ THIS! is all Holly Black books. Who knows though, maybe there will be a joint reading of The Iron Trial as well just to keep within the theme!

Here’s our selections!

Sam’s Pick for River:

15944406

Doll Bones by Holly Black

I absolutely loved this book when I read it last year, and it’s got a good level of creepy and thoughtful mixed in. Although I know River isn’t huge on middle grade, I know how much she adores Holly Black’s writing, and I think she will enjoy this book a fair bit (or at least, I HOPE so!)

River’s Pick for Sam:

12813630

Th Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

So for whatever stupid reason, I’ve had this book on my shelf since it released (it was gifted to me by Kiki). I adore Holly Black and she wrote one of my favourite series ever (Modern Faerie Tales) so how I haven’t read this yet is beyond me. Thankfully, River gave me a book bitch slap so this is the choice she made for me and she is the best because of it. THE BEST.

And there you have our picks for August. Who knows, this month could see us reading all the Holly Black we haven’t tackled yet. Exact our full report on these two books at the end of the month. If you’ve read either of these, let us know in the comments as we’d love to know what you thought of them!

4 thoughts on “SIT DOWN! SHUT UP! READ THIS! – August Edition

    1. samcmar Post author

      I have no idea WHY I haven’t read it yet but I started it yesterday and I am already really engaged by it. I adore Holly Black, so you’re right, it seems silly I am only getting to this book now. >>; Bad Sam.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

