SIT DOWN! SHUT UP! READ THIS! – July Edition Reviewed

Welcome to July’s edition of SIT DOWN! SHUT UP! READ THIS! Where River and I force books upon each other with the demand of “WTH IS WRONG WITH YOU?! WHY HAVEN’T YOU READ THIS?!” Yes, we have all caps conservations sometimes, and no we are not a shamed to admit it. Here is what we challenged each other to read and our overall thoughts.

Sam’s Pick for River:

12157407

In the After by Demitria Lunetta

River’s Thoughts: I loved this! I wasn’t a huge fan of the way the story was told, but the tension was so tight and I was INCREDIBLY invested in Amy and Baby, so a full four stars! Man, that was tight, and everything just clicked along. I want to hug Baby and know that she’s okay after that ending. Next book now! (Sam’s Note: Yeah, In the End is pretty awesome. Also River hit on the head what I didn’t really enjoy about the book, but it really is all about the invest level given towards Amy and Baby.)

River’s Pick for Sam: 

12578313

Golden by Jessi Kirby

Sam’s Thoughts: So funny story, I bought all of Jessi Kirby’s novels thanks to River and weirdly read the other two before I had picked up Golden. This book sweeps you away on such a beautiful and thoughtful adventure. I loved the characters, particularly Parker and Kat, whose voices just melted into my head as I was reading the text. There’s a good ounce of mystery in the story and the ending? Perfect. Complete and utterly perfect. Everything is wrapped up in such a way where you feel touched and overall, this is just a really thoughtful story. LOVEDLOVEDLOVED IT.

Leave a Reply

