ARC Review – The Glorkian Warrior Eats Adventure Pie by James Kochalka

21469088Title:  The Glorkian Warrior Eats Adventure Pie

Author: James Kochalka

Rating: ★★ 1/2

Synopsis: Oh, Glorkian Warrior. You were doing so well! You almost had that rampaging space snake under control — when Buster Glark, your villainous rival in the Glorkian Corps, showed up to make fun of you! He laughed so hard at your misfortune that he gave himself the hiccups. And that was just on the first page of this book.

Things are only going to get worse from here, Glorkian Warrior. But we promise there will be plenty of pie at the end.

Huge thank you to First Second and Netgalley for this ARC!

Sam’s Review: 

So, I knew nothing going into this graphic novel. In fact, it was the cover that suckered me into requesting it on Netgalley, and funny enough I didn’t realize there was a book before this one. Oh well! This book is an odd one, if for the soul fact that everything is very spontaneous and crazy. It makes following the overall plot a little hard at times, but at the same time a lot of the little side stories are pretty adorable.

I did find the humor a bit off at times, and admittedly I felt like it wasn’t something I could engage with or enjoy. I recognize that children and middle graders are the target audience, but I am so over tasteless fart and poop jokes in children’s books. I’d like to think there’s a fun adventure story, but this book was just a touch too all over the map for me.

However, I loved the artwork and the colours. This is a really vibrant and expressive graphic novel for children and it totally has a ton of eye appeal. Admittedly, while I didn’t enjoy this as much as I would have liked to, I could totally see children engaging with it and having fun with the overall story and characters.

 

Leave a Reply

