River & Sam’s Fave Books of July

It’s August! And August means insanity and hopefully lots of reading? River and I have been so swamped with our life obligations that I am super sure this is going to be the month where the two of us slow down a bit. Admittedly, I am still going to try that August ARC Challenge, but I have no idea if I was a bit overly ambitious with that list. We’ll see, ya know?

Anywho, July was a good reading month for the two of us, so here’s our favourite reads from July.

River’s Pick:

18406862

 

Sinner by Maggie Stiefvater

Are any of us really surprised by River’s choice? I am certainly not, though I admit I still haven’t read this book yet (cue River throwing crap at me until I do it), but I wasn’t huge on the Wolves of Mercy Falls series. However, because this is Maggie, I know I’m going to read it. River stated the following on her Goodreads:

“It is impossible for me to review a Maggie book. Don’t make me do it.  Or if you want, just imagine a lot of GUSHING! ADJECTIVES! LOVE! here. Also, Isabel is my second favorite Maggie character (after Ganseyyyy, of course). Maggie asked us to love it or hate it and I loved it.”

Yeah, that is the best response ever, I think.

Sam’s Pick:

17453303

Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future by A.S King

I am a big A.S King fangirl, so I knew I needed to make the time to read my ARC of Glory O’Brien before I forgot to. This is definitely one of King’s more disjointed books, but I still found it to be an engaging and fascinating read overall. Glory’s “histories of the future” revolve around feminism and woman’s rights, and it’s a book that also looks personal identity and growth. I found myself really connected to this book, and Glory is totes Daria. I actually have a review written for this one, but you’ll all have to wait until closer to its October release date!

And there you have it! What was your favourite read in the month of July? Let us know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

