The September & October Book Ban Challenge!

All right, so I had amazing lucky back in April and May with not buying an books. As soon as my book buying ban was up, I went a little crazy with the book buying. In that two  month span I read fifteen physical books (and that was not counting the ARCs that I read). So I’ve decided to do another two months of no book buying! Why? Because sometimes it’s good to widdle the backlog down so more.

However, there is going to be a catch. For starters, I will allow you readers of the blog to select from my TBR what I should read during the challenge. However, keep in mind: you can only pick one book, and if I do not own it, you need to select a different one. If the book is labelled ‘to-find’ it means I don’t have it! So check out my TBR on Goodreads and select ONE book from it that I should read during the ban. Leave your picks for me in the comments! 🙂

The second challenge is, I’m going to try and work in a few Stack of Fives here and there, but I’m not sure how that will work yet. It may be a case of as I feel like it, I’ll toss up onto twitter five books and the one with the most votes will be read in the challenge.

I’ve also decided I am not limiting this challenge to physical books, so ARCs, eBooks, audiobooks, anything that’s in my backlog is free game. My goal is simply to see how much I can read without buying more books. It’s going to be a bumpy road, but I think I can manage it. If YOU want to join in the fun, let me know and we’ll see if we can’t make an event out of it.

4 thoughts on “The September & October Book Ban Challenge!

  1. ventureadlaxre

    Well I think you’d love ‘The Mad Scientist’s Daughter’ so I recommend that, but if I had to be selfish, I’d say ‘A Confusion of Princes’ because I need prodding to read it, and I really want to find the time for it 😀 So if you read and love it, that’ll help me out :3

    Reply
    1. samcmar Post author

      I would love to read A Confusion of Princes with you if you find a gap in your judging, OR we can just make time for a buddy read. When would you like to read it? 😀 Also I have been wanting to read the Mad Scientist’s Daughter forever and both books are sitting on my Kindle begging to be read.

      Reply
      1. ventureadlaxre

        Reading it together would be awesome! I shall have to try and clear some reading over the next week then let you know? (Have two books to proof read as well as judging/reviewing… oops). So hopefully in a week or so? Apparently it’s amaaaazing!

  2. knitkiki

    I vote for either Vixen, or Cosmos. Two very different choices.

    Vixen – because it is a fast read and will clear a book off your shelf.

    Cosmos – SPAAAAAAAAACE. And it is made of awesome.

    Also – I would be in on this if you wanted to make it into an event.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

