River & Sam’s Fave Books of August

It’s time for River and Sam’s Favourite of the Month! Why? Because we always gotta share a favourite based on all the bajillion books the two of us read. So without further ado…

River’s Pick:

18081809

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Both of us have now read Landline, and I dunno about River, but I am not understanding all the hate this book has been getting. I feel like people had some weird expectations for this book that obviously didn’t meet their standards. Truthfully, I thought the book was fantastic and had a very different voice compared to Eleanor & Park or Fangirl, and I appreciated it for that alone. The biggest comment I saw River making when she was reading this book was how close to home it hit in her life!

Sam’s Pick:

7664334

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

I initially picked this book up from the library after I saw Melissa Giorgio squeeing about it on Goodreads. Every person I know who has read Morgan Matson loves her books, and I figured this was a great one to start with. Let’s just say once I finished it, I had a desire to go on a road trip — the book lingered with me that long after completion. I also loved all the notes Matson left in the back of the book about when she did the trip, and I love all the inserts into the text like receipts, post cards, playlists, it really made the book feel authentic.

What was your favourite August read? Let us know!

Leave a Reply

