ARC Review – Kiss of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick

19367260Title: Kiss of Broken Glass

Author:  Madeleine Kuderick

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: After she’s caught in the school bathroom cutting herself with the blade from a pencil sharpener, fifteen-year-old Kenna is put under mandatory psychiatric watch. She has seventy-two hours to face her addiction, deal with rejection, and find a shred of hope.

Huge thank you to HarperTeen and Edelweiss for this ARC!

River’s Review:

Well damn, I read that in five hot minutes. I actually wasn’t planning on reading this until closer to the release, but I was bored and flipped through my kindle on my train ride to work and landed on this and had no idea what it was about so I started to read and kinda got sucked in and suddenly I was half way through (this thing is short and a FAST read). 

The writing is BEAUTIFUL. It’s a stream of conscious style of writing, and I love that so much. I seriously read 40% of this in one sitting and then flew through the rest after work. 

Kenna, who appears to be a typical teen with a ‘perfect’ older sister and a broken family, get’s caught cutting at school and she’s forced into a psych ward for 72 hours. Cutting… was not something that I had to deal with in school. It wasn’t really that big of a thing yet (it was mainly pot and drinking), and I knew a few people who did it, but it didn’t become a problem until I was in college. So the idea of it scares the hell out of me. And I honestly have a hard time understanding why people do it. I mean, I get it, but I don’t GET it. And I could never do it. And it makes me so sad that people do. And Kenna reveals that she doesn’t know why she does it either. And that’s even scarier. 

I can’t even imagine being a teenager right now, and when I read books like this, it makes me both glad and sad. I don’t have kids and even if I did they wouldn’t be teens, but my niece will be a teenager in the future and I can only hope that things like cutting and drugs wont be a problem by the time she’s that old. I also hope that she’ll be strong enough to not try these kinds of things. And that if she does, that she’ll be strong enough to get help.

This book is simple and honest but incredibly deep. It’s not a story about a girl who solves her problems, and I liked that. It’s the story of a girl who needs help and might actually admit that she does. It’s a wake-up call for her family, her friends and herself. There’s a lot of mixed emotions, but the ending left me feeling hopeful. And I hope that this story reaches people who need it.

You guys are going to want to check this one out this fall.

Sam’s Review:

Kiss of Broken Glass is a pretty unique book in the sense that it’s written entirely in verse. I can’t say I’ve read too many books that are written in verse, but what I can say is that the way Kuderick handles the style is pretty fantastic.

Kenna’s voice is crystal clear, and what I adore about this story is how disturbing it is. I never really thought about “cutting competitions” as being a real things, but it really makes you wonder about the kind of pressures this new generation of teens is really facing. I found this book very eye-opening because it makes no bones about it’s disturbing content and how frightening it is to be in such a situation.

My younger self definitely could relate to this book in so many ways, and I got help for my problems. I think what’s great about this story is the struggle to reconcile issues of self-harm and why it happens in the first place. There is no easy answer, which Kenna describes, and yet the more I read, the more I remember what it was like to have been in a similar state.

This book looks at getting help and how to cope and find ways to love yourself. Loving yourself isn’t easy, and Kudrick does an amazing job of showing how one teen attempts to make changes and climb, get stronger, and work towards something better. This book is a fantastically thoughtful piece and one that if you love realistic stories should definitely be on your radar. It’s intense, but worth easy page-turn.

Leave a Reply

