SIT DOWN! SHUT UP! READ THIS! – August Edition Reviewed

We are a little late on this update, but welcome to another edition of SIT DOWN! SHUT UP! READ THIS! where River and I force books onto each other and then we bask in hardcovers, in all our glory! Or… we just force each other to read a book the other enjoyed because OMGREADTHIS! For the month of August, River and I realized we both had Holly Black books that we had not read yet, so we challenged each other to a month of Holly-licious reads.

Sam’s Pick for River:

15944406

Doll Bones by Holly Black

River’s Thoughts: Read this for the August SDSURT!!! blog feature and I loved it! I knew I would… it’s Holly Black! It was creepy and fun and so much different than I expected. I loved the characters, their adventure, the messages about growing up, and just everything. Thanks to Sam for making me finally sit down and read this.

River’s Pick for Sam:

12813630The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, by Holly Black

Sam’s Thoughts: Seriously, wtf me. Really? I took till August to finally get off my butt to read this? What was I thinking! This book was amazing, and it was easily one of the darkest, creepiest vampire books I’ve read in a long time. I also was completely disturbed (and kinda in love with) the social media aspect that Black through into the story. So so so creepy. Also I loved Tana, and I cheered so hard for her throughout the story. I was her cheerleader, big time… and now I want to read this again already. Curse you, Holly Black! (By that I mean, I love you, don’t kill me.)

And there you have it! What did you think of our reads for last month? Did you read them? Like ’em? September’s book is Dangerous Boys, and if folks want to join in for that read, let us know because River and I are doing a read along for it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

