ARC Review – Blackbird by Anna Carey

18710739Title: Blackbird

Author: Anna Carey

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: A girl wakes up on the train tracks, a subway car barreling down on her. With only minutes to react, she hunches down and the train speeds over her. She doesn’t remember her name, where she is, or how she got there. She has a tattoo on the inside of her right wrist of a blackbird inside a box, letters and numbers printed just below: FNV02198. There is only one thing she knows for sure: people are trying to kill her. 

On the run for her life, she tries to untangle who she is and what happened to the girl she used to be. Nothing and no one are what they appear to be. But the truth is more disturbing than she ever imagined. 

Huge thank you to HarperTeen and Edelweiss for this ARC!

River’s Review:

Can’t really say much about this without giving things away, but it was much better than I expected! I hated Carey’s Eve trilogy (well, the first book, I didn’t even bother with the rest of them) so I wasn’t sure if I was going to like this. I will say this, Carey’s writing is so pretty. I loved it. And the second person narrative was weird and different and meshed well with the story.

Girl wakes up on train tracks, has no idea who she is. She’s covered with scars and blood and a fresh tattoo on her wrist. She has a bag with some instructions and supplies inside. She follows the first set of instructions which leads to a domino effect of other events that just keep things moving and don’t stop. She’d being chased around LA, hunted by someone. She gets help from unexpected people and slowly her memories start to come back.

I loved how twisty this was, how it was constantly moving, and how you had no idea what was really going on. I flew through the first 50% of it and was just like WHAT IS HAPPENING? But not in a bad way. When she finally started to piece things together it was almost too unbelievable to be true but… it’s not. And it was nothing like I thought it would be.

I really can’t say more, but don’t trust anyone, and get ready to be all OMG I HAVE TO WAIT FOR THE NEXT BOOK FOR HOW LONG?!?! when you get to the end. Because I don’t even want to think about how long I have to wait for the next one…

 

2 thoughts on “ARC Review – Blackbird by Anna Carey

  1. pdbkwm

    This sounds amazing! I never read the Eve trilogy, only because it didn’t seem like something I would like, but this is right up my alley. Off to the TBR pile it goes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

