ARC Review – Kiss Kill Vanish by Jessica Martinez

20799781Title: Kiss Kill Vanish

Author: Jessica Martinez

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis:  Valentina Cruz no longer exists.

One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she was witnessing the unthinkable: a murder in cold blood, ordered by her father and carried out by her boyfriend. When Emilio pulled the trigger, Valentina disappeared. She made a split-second decision to shed her identity and flee her life of privilege, leaving the glittering parties and sultry nightlife of Miami far behind.

She doesn’t know how to explain to herself what she saw. All she knows now is that nothing she believed about her family, her heart, or Emilio’s love, was real.

She can change her name and deny her past, but Valentina can’t run from the truth. The lines between right and wrong, and trust and betrayal, will be blurred beyond recognition as she untangles the deceptions of the two men she once loved and races to find her own truth.

Thank you to Katherine Tegen Books and Edelweiss!

River’s Review:

Wow wow WOW! This was good. One of my top books for the YEAR! And as with all books that I LOVE I cannot even put into words why I loved it. The writing was so good, so sexy. I loved the tone and the setting and just everything. The characters were all passionate and flawed, emotional. Valentina was amazing. I loved her strength, her weaknesses. I loved how deeply she loved, how passionate she was, how she questioned things. I loved Marcel and his transformation. I hated Emilio and her father. Everyone was layered and dimensional.

Valentina is hiding from her father in Canada, it’s cold, she’s penniless, living off of charity and a random job as an art model. Marcel is a broken teen who’s only trying to live in a way that pisses off his parents, his brother. At the start of the book I NEVER saw him being as big of a part of this book as he was. My god I loved how he just slipped into the story, into Valentina’s life.

Emilio… what a creep. I get what he was doing, and when we find out his secret… WOW. I did NOT see that coming at all. And it makes sense, but he’s not a good person and I was SO MAD at Valentina for trusting him so much. I kept forgetting that she’s just a teenager, in love with love and Emilio was more than just love. He was older, dangerous, powerful, romantic. She was in love with an image of him. I wanted to shake her so hard sometime though, the ways she was waiting for him, the way she keep making excuses for him. And at the end when she was thinking about messing everything up, I was REALLY angry at her again. I guess she just came across as such so mature that her childish tantrums made me think ‘wtf is wrong with you!’ But I’m glad that things turned out like they did.

Guys, I can’t even explain why this was so good without giving away EVERYTHING. So just read it. Drink in the beautiful writing. Have your loyalties torn like Valentina. And get ready to fall for Marcel.

Leave a Reply

