Blog Tour – Earth & Sky by Megan Crewe (Review)

17875055Title: Earth & Sky

Author: Megan Crewe

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: Seventeen-year-old Skylar has been haunted for as long as she can remember by fleeting yet powerful sensations that something is horribly wrong. But despite the panic attacks tormenting her, nothing ever happens, and Sky’s beginning to think she’s crazy. Then she meets a mysterious, otherworldly boy named Win and discovers the shocking truth her premonitions have tapped into: our world no longer belongs to us. For thousands of years, Earth has been at the mercy of alien scientists who care nothing for its inhabitants and are using us as the unwitting subjects of their time-manipulating experiments. Win belongs to a rebel faction seeking to put a stop to it, and he needs Skylar’s help–but with each shift in the past, the very fabric of reality is unraveling, and soon there may be no Earth left to save.

Huge thank you to Razorbill Canada for this ARC!

Sam’s Review:

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed reading Earth & Sky. I actually had the pleasure of listening to Megan Crewe read a section of the novel during this year’s Word on the Street, and it was in that moment that I knew I needed to bump this book up on my TBR.

Interestingly, this wasn’t a read that I could devour in one sitting. This book has a lot of build to it, and it does take some time to set up what exactly it wants to do and where it wants to go. Skyler isn’t the most lovable protagonist, but she’s got this awkward charm about her that made it easy for me to connect with her. She’s someone who uses math as a calming mechanism when she’s nervous or uncomfortable (she’s a bit OCD, really). It’s a weird habit, but I do similar things (though in my case, I make up songs when I’m nervous or uncomfortable). Skyler is a very unlikely heroine and that worked well for me. She’s someone with a lot of flaws but is constantly growing and shining throughout the story.

Win, her love interest, I wasn’t as keen on. He’s a likeable guy, but for whatever reason I didn’t find him as intriguing or have the same connection I did with Skyler. He’s really a big plot device for a lot of the story’s movement until you start to understand where he’s coming from and then it all makes sense. However, when he’s being fluffy with Skyler, they were kinda cute in the cotton candy sorta way.

I thought the science fiction elements were done well here, though with a time travel novel, the reader always has to suspense their disbelief in challenging ways, usually resulting in love or hate. For me, I found even if it didn’t always make perfect sense, Crewe makes the story fun, and she takes the reader on a ride through so many different points in history (someone more unexpected than others) and she keeps this rapid pace about it. There’s also tons of action and intrigue for those who need that in their storytelling.

At the end of the day, Earth & Sky is both well written and a crazy fun romp. The only hard part in reviewing this book is the fact that I wanted a bit more of the story (which, may be I shouldn’t complain about since the next book will be out in six months!), but I feel like that every time I seem to start a new trilogy. I really am excited to see where book two takes Skyler and Win next.

banner

Check out the rest of the Tour!

One thought on “Blog Tour – Earth & Sky by Megan Crewe (Review)

  1. Pingback: Book Ban Check-in #4 | Cherry Blossoms & Maple Syrup

Leave a Reply

