SIT DOWN! SHUT UP! READ THIS! – November Edition Reviewed

November is over, December begins, which means it’s time for the latest instalment of SIT DOWN! SHUT UP! READ THIS! Reviewed Edition. River and I read some pretty awesome books in November, and the two we selected for each other? Let’s just say we REALLY enjoyed them.

Sam’s Pick for River:

6482837

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

River’s Thoughts: This book was so much different from what I expected. I mean, I knew it was going to be groundhogs-day-ish, but I guess beyond that I had no idea. I actually put this book off for a long time because I thought the whole re-living the same day thing sounded SUPER boring. And this book is on the long-ish side for a YA novel. I’m also not the biggest Lauren Oliver fan. I really didn’t like her dystopian books that much, but then I read PANIC and looooooved that so I guess I like her contemporary work? Like, a lot?

Now I can’t wait for Vanishing Girls and I NEED to pick up a copy of Rooms. But yeah this book was so good.

River’s Pick for Sam: 

21081693

Finding Serendipity by Angelica Banks

Sam’s Thoughts: What a magical story! I loved the adventure in this story, and I loved how it as much a mother-daughter bonding story as it was one of growing up. I think what the appeal is for Finding Serendipity is that it’s a book lover’s book, a book a writer would love to write. It made me smile from start to finish, I loved the characters, especially Baxterr (with his extra ‘r’!). The story is insanely cute and it’s accompanied by some beautiful illustrations.

Even though this is a middle grade novel, I feel like anyone can read this story and fall victim to its charms. It’s quirky, cute, and just plain fun. Sometimes you just want a story that’s fun and thoughtful in the simplest ways, and Finding Serendipity just excels at that. It’s seriously that magical and delightful of a book! Check it out!

Read any of our picks? Let us know what you think in the comments.

Leave a Reply

