ARC Review – Transcendent by Lesley Livingston

22042962Title: Transcendent

Author: Lesley Livingston

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis:  On a terrace high above the streets of Manhattan, Mason Starling kneels beside her beloved Fennrys Wolf, who lies in a pool of blood, his life hanging in the balance. Even if he lives, their future is far from certain as chaos swirls around them. Has this unstoppable heroine-smart, savvy, deadly with a blade-reached the limits of what her sword can vanquish and her soul can survive?

Huge thank you to HarperCollins Canada for this ARC!

Sam’s Review:

I am so sad this series is officially over! However, it really did have quite a hell of an ending, if I must say. Transcendent is a book that keeps you entertained from the get go and it immediately begins where Descendent left off. Mason is now a Valkyrie, and she must learn to harness her new found, if super sucky power (though personally, I think it’s kind of nifty, if morbid). Mason gets a ton of growth and what I enjoyed about her in this particular instalment is that she gets crap done.

Was this last book perfect? No, it definitely has a few problems. There were so many mythologies crammed into the story, and I wished that story had main focused on one or two. I mean, I get that it’s an epic battle of the gods, but it did become a bit overwhelming at times to keep all the names straight. Still, this is a long sequence of battles, chaos and absolutely craziness, with many of the characters facing tough decisions and attempting to figure out what is truly “right and wrong.”

Poor Fennrys Wolf though, he takes quite the kickin’ in this story, and I really felt for him at times. I probably shouldn’t have, but I did. I don’t really want to embark on spoiler territory, but this book packs continuous punches, each more furious as the story progresses. Plus, the writing is snappy and it’s so easy to just become absorbed in this world and the story being told. I’m said this trilogy is over, but I cannot wait to see what new shenanigans Lesley Livingston will come up with next.

 

Leave a Reply

