ARC Review – The Ruby Airship by Sharon Gosling

cover52176-mediumTitle: The Ruby Airship

Author: Sharon Gosling

Rating: ★★

Synopsis: In this sequel to The Diamond Thief, trapeze-artist Rémy has left the circus and her life as a thief, but she doubts that detective Thaddeus Rec will ever truly trust her. Feeling torn between her new life and her old, Rémy decides to return to France and her old circus with Yannick, an old friend who unexpectedly appears.

Meanwhile, Thaddeus is sure that Yannick is up to no good. He’s determined to find them and win Rémy back, even if he must risk a journey by airship to do so.

Huge thank you to Switch Press and Netgalley for this ARC!

Sam’s Review:

I love a good steampunk story, but unfortunately, I was a bit lost in this one. Admittedly, it was my own fault — I didn’t realize this was a sequel, and requested it any ways. I figured I’d be able to read it on its own, and while that was somewhat true, I still found myself a bit lost in terms of what was already known about the characters.

Having a sense of being lost, it’s not fun. I had a hard time connecting to all the characters in this story, perhaps its because their relationships were mostly defined in the previous book, or it could be I just could make a solid connecting because I felt like I was missing something. It’s hard to say, but I found myself struggling to care about what had been happening to the characters in this story.

The other issue: a lot of the time I was bored reading this. It would have moments where it would peak and be engaging, but then it would move back into being a lot of exposition, then peak in the action factor, and then back into slugging through exposition. I suppose I’m a reader who needs a bit more consistency, but the pacing really didn’t work for me. The writing is good, don’t get me wrong, but it failed to keep me wanting to read more than a few chapters at a time.

I did finish the book and I thought the ending was all right considering the events that have taken place in this book. I don’t know if would go back and read the first book, I just feel like there’s better steampunk out there. That being said, I do think there’s an audience for The Ruby Airship, because it’s not a bad book by any means, it just wasn’t for me.

Leave a Reply

