Sam’s Bookish Resolutions for 2015

First some housekeeping: River and I decided December was a free month and both of use managed to not get to our December SDSURT! PIcks, so we are moving them into January! Also, both of us did well on our @HolidayReadingMadness Challenge, but neither of us finished! (Though we were pretty darn close). We’ll be sharing the results of that very soon. 🙂 Couple more 2014 related features in the works too, even though the year ends… tomorrow! (Yes, we are super on the ball here at Cherry Blossoms and Maple Syrup! …or not.)

Any ways, 2015 is ushering its way in, and 2014 is leaving. Did you all get any awesome looking books from the holidays? I know I did! I may have also went to the library (which is always a big, wonderful, mistake for me). So lemme know what you got in the comments.

Anywho, let’s turn to 2015 for a second, shall we? I thought I’d share some of my bookish goals, since I have quite a few!

1) Buy less books. This one always seems to be on the list, and I can say in 2014 I did in fact buy less books. I did some book bans, which were really tricky, one which was super successful, and one that was… not. The husband keeps pointing at the Shelf of Shame, so my goal is to continue to buy less books (minus the stuff I pre-ordered, he didn’t stop me from that). I am going to try to see how many months I go without buying any new books. Wish me luck on this!

2) Donate and Unhaul Books. Since this ties into goal number one, I feel like I have some real explaining to do. As someone who collects books, for the longest time I simply kept everything, even if I didn’t like it. I need to be okay will pulling stuff off my shelf that I am no longer interested in reading, and donating it to someone else you might want to. I own too many books (more than 400+ unread), so if I am not interested anymore, I need to be okay with setting it free.

3) Read Books From My Shelf of Shame. The main goal of 2015 is to read what I already own. I say this every year, but my husband has been super cracking down on me with the book buying, and I need to abide by his wishes. Finding space is getting trickier, so I need to read, read, read!

4) Love the Library. I adore my local library and its selection that it offers. I love it so much that when I go in there I come home with more than I should. I am okay with this, since the books do not live in my house afterwards. Just for a little while!

5) Read Whatever I Want. I hate being tied down to a schedule, and with the amount of ARCs that River and I receive, we do our best to tackle as many as we can. That being said, my own books take too much of a backseat. I need to be okay with the fact that when it comes to my eARCs that I can take my time and read them whenever I want. Paper ARCs, however, will always take a priority and be done on time. Publishers took the time to mail me an ARC, it will be read and reviewed. I pride myself on keeping great relationships with publishers I deal with!

6) Try to read some longer books. I find the over 500+ page books intimidating, usually because they often feel padded as opposed to fulfilling. Then there are the books that are over 500+ pages and stuff is constantly happening. I need to read more of these.

7) Complete All Bookish Challenges. I tend to set yearly challenges for myself, and I’ve actually failed every single one. I still set up some yearly challenges for myself, such as the Book Riot 2015 Read Harder Challenge and my Month by Month Challenge, so I’d like to complete these. But if I don’t, that is okay too.

8) Finally, blog more, comment more, and be more active. Yes, I mean that. 100%.

What are some of your bookish resolutions? Let us know in the comments.

One thought on “Sam’s Bookish Resolutions for 2015

Leave a Reply

