River & Sam’s Fave Books of December

It’s 2015! That means a new year, and new reads to come! But what was our favourite books in December 2014? Well, let’s take a look, shall we?

River’s PIck:

19321432

The Beginning of Everything
by Robyn Schneider

So, funny story: I won an ARC of this back in 2013 when it released, and it is still sitting on my shelf. After River had finished this book, she lovingly scolded me about how I should have read this and I didn’t. I was going to read it with her, but I was in the middle of something else. Apparently this book is made of feels and with a tagline like “Everyone Gets a Tragedy,” I can totally see how. Goal for 2015? Sam needs to read this book!

Sam’s Pick:

17339214

Sex & Violence
by Carrie Mesrobian

While I was studying for my library exams, I kept passing this book in the stacks at my local library. I ended up reading the synopsis and ended up taking it home with me. This book is fantastic, and Carrie Mesrobian has a real knack for writing male POV and making them feel so realistic. This book is disturbing, uncomfortable, but it oddly has an interesting take on what a silver lining might look like. I HIGHLY recommend this book as it was easily one of my favourites I read in the month of December and now I need to see if I can track down a copy of her second book, Perfectly Good White Boy.

Annnnnnd that’s it for our December 2014 favourites! What were some of your favourite reads in December? Or for the whole year? Have you read what’s above? What did you think? Why am I asking all these questions? Let us know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

