Bout of Books 12.0 Read-a-thon!

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 5th and runs through Sunday, January 11th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 12 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.

boutofbooks

 

This seems like an overly ambitious TBR for this read-a-thon, doesn’t it? Well, my last semester of library classes doesn’t start until the following week, so I thought this would be a great opportunity since I love read-a-thons and during  my library classes, it’s impossible to participate in anything fun that is bookish without freaking about about tests! and assignments! and cataloguing! AHHHHH! My TBR has been selected based on ARCs that I need to get off my butt and read, and some of them fit my 2015 reading challenges such as the Book Riot’s 2015 Read Harder Challenge, as well as my personal Month By Month Challenge (where in I let my twitter followers select 12 books, and I must read one of them each month).

Anywho, here’s what I’ve selected for the read-a-thon:

Horns, by Joe Hill (borrowed)

The Chaos by Nalo Hopkinson (Month By Month Challenge)

My Heart & Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga (ARC + Book Riot’s 2015 Read Harder Challenge)

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (ARC + December’s SIT DOWN! SHUT UP! READ THIS! Pick)

Firefight by Brandon Sanderson (ARC + Book Riots 2015 Read Harder Challenge)

Batwoman: World’s Finest Vol 3 by J.H Williams III (because I love Batwoman)

Hopefully I can get through all of these within the week. I’ll be proud of myself if I even get through two of them. The reason? Well, Dragon Age: Inquisition has been kind of stealing my life and I am super duper in love with it. LOOK AT MY QUNARI LADY! SHE IS PRETTY!

qunari herald

Anywho, here’s to everyone’s success during the read-a-thon! 😀

3 thoughts on “Bout of Books 12.0 Read-a-thon!

  1. thebookmagpie

    BMO!!!

    Also, hope you enjoy Bout of Books – I’m doing it for the first time and I’m trying to be a wee bit ambitious too as I’ve still got a whole week off work!

    Reply
    1. samcmar Post author

      We can do this! The power of positivity and good books will help us through it! I noticed on your blog you are doing a no buying of books in January? I’m thinking of doing the same because the shelf of shame keeps GROWING. :D;;; We can kick this read-a-thons big butt! (Love your blog btw)

      Reply
      1. thebookmagpie

        Definitely – gotta take the optimistic view! Yeah, I’m doing a challenge where I’m trying to limit the number of books I buy over the course of the year… 12 physical books, and £10/month worth of Kindle books (because they don’t take up any room!) Had to do it because my shelf of shame is at epic proportions right now and it’s giving me a headache… at least this readathon will help me make a dent in it *fingers crossed*

        Also thanks 🙂 yours too! I love finding new-to-me book blogs.

Leave a Reply

