Ten Comics & Graphic Novels You Should Check Out

I find I binge on comics and graphic novels. I can’t help it! I have always been one of those people who loves images and words as a combination. Graphic novels are my comfort food, something I devour the moment I start reading. Today, I thought I’d share ten of my recent favourites. I’m going to exclude capes (Batman, etc) and focus on them in another blog post, at another time. Shall we get started?

20701984

El Deafo by Cece Bell

This is one of the most honest portrayals of living with disability that I’ve ever read about. Cece’s story is thoughtful and incredibly genuine from start to finish. I love the way she wishes to become a superhero (like Batman!), but I equally adored reading about how she overcame so many obstacles! It’s such a charming read, and one that I feel deserves a bit more attention because subject matters, like disability often go completely overlooked and are often not written in such an uplifting or humorous manner.

 18689586

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

I have gushed on the blog previously about this book, but I feel this gushing needs to be reiterated. Through the Woods is an uncomfortable, dark, and unnerving read. Each story within this collection is fantastically plotted, creepy to the bone, and will leave chills down your spine. The artwork is absolutely amazing, if very graphic, and definitely not for those who make get squicked easily. That being said, I loved how haunting each story is, and I plan to reread it again come Halloween, just so I can scare myself silly.

15704307

Saga by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples

While Brian K. Vaughan has tons of amazing works (The Runaways, Y: The Last Man, so so good), Saga somewhat beats out all his other works for me. If you haven’t read Saga, I question what rock you’ve been hiding under. This series has amazing characters, a fantastic plot, and some of the most stunning artwork I’ve seen in comics. This world is scary, yet you gotta love a star-crossed lover’s storyline that also in turn makes fun of the classics (In your face, Romeo & Juliet!). Here’s the other thing: I love ALL the characters. Very seldom when I read books or graphic novels can I say that I love the whole cast, but Saga makes me love the cast so damn hard.

FC_BC_9780545132060.pdf

Smile by Raina Telgemeier

I have read all of Raina Telgemeier’s work in the span of a year, but of all the books she’s done, Smile seems to be the story I look back at the fondest. There’s something about getting braces for the first time that I think a lot of us can relate to, and all the stigmas that we dream up in having them. Smile is a very honest portrayal of wanting to fit in without feeling like your a freak because you’ve got metal on your teeth. I think all of Telgemeier’s stories are fantastic, and yet this is the one I recommend because Raina’s journey is one I could relate to. Admittedly, I equally love her adaptations of the Babysitter’s Club, which I totes recommend clearly for nostalgia purposes!

20575446

In Real Life
by Cory Doctorow & Jen Wang

Outside of reading, my other major hobby is gaming. I’ve worked in the games industry as a journalist for over five years and the issues that this book tackles completely breaks my heart. It saddens me that gold farming is still a thing and that people have to suffer in the name of video games. This book has a wonderful portrayal of friendship, identity, while also looking at socio-economical issues within the virtual world. Plus, Anda is an amazing protagonist and I love her crusade against issues of gold farming. This book is incredibly smart and very well done. Plus the art? Amazing.

18465601

The Shadow Hero
by Gene Luen Yang  & Sonny Liew 

I said no capes at the beginning of this post, but I will make the exception for The Shadow Hero because it’s a bit different from a lot of the cape comics out there. First off, it’s an origin story for a superhero many may not be familiar with: The Green Turtle. It’s the story of a man who doesn’t want to become a superhero, but his mother *demands* that he must (for reason which I will not spoil, but there’s some humour in it). Gene Luen Yang writes amazing graphic novels (and his artwork is pretty rad too). I always find myself strongly connecting to his work because of how he writes people and makes social issues accessible to all audiences. While I LOVE The Shadow Hero, Boxers & Saints and American Born Chinese are equally worth your attention.

20442885

Seconds by Brian Lee O’Malley

I am going to cheat a little on this one and suggest you listen to this podcast where I discuss this book with my husband, Scott Wachter and the amazing Kiki. Let’s just say we super hearted this book and even if you didn’t like Scott Pilgrim, this one is still worth checking out. Beautiful artwork, hilarious characters, awesome GIRL FRIENDSHIPS. The book has it all in spades.

8879121

Zita the Spacegirl 
by Ben Hatke

Hello, graphic novel fans out there? You really should get on it and read Zita the Space Girl. There’s something insanely magical about Ben Hatke’s writing, his characters, and the world that Zita finds herself in. He made me care about a rock monster and a giant rat! Also, this series is too short and when I finished the last volume, I may have screamed a little bit about wanting more. Seriously, Zita is fun and she needs to be read. GO DO IT.

19536001

Sex Criminals by Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky

Yes, the title seems super inappropriate. No, it’s actually not as inappropriate as one would think (though there are sexy timez so you have been warned). So Sex Criminals,, is a wonderful series with some really messed up people. There’s a lot of dark humour afoot in this series, and it’s definitely not for everyone. This series is colourful, crazy, and wonderfully messed up. It’s like your brain is on a euphoric trip that doesn’t let up until it’s over. Now if only volume 2 would come out faster, that’d be great.

20299683

Rat Queens by Kurtis J. Wiebe  & Roc Upchurch 

I admit, this is the series I’m having the hardest time waiting for trades for. Rat Queens instantly hooked it’s claws into me, and I was completely addicted to reading it. I admit, I do not like reading single issues of comics, and I’d rather read them when they are bound up. The characters in this series are sexy, sassy and absolutely bonkers. How can you not love a group called “The Rat Queens” and how can you not enjoy their antics? This series is girl power all the way, and the women are bad ass. Rat Queens takes elements of Dungeons & Dragons and mashes it up with sass and class. I seriously cannot wait for volume 2, and I can’t wait to see what adventures are in store for the Queens!

Have some graphic novels or comics you want to share? Let me know in the comments — I love recommendations!

4 thoughts on “Ten Comics & Graphic Novels You Should Check Out

  1. ashleighelaine1

    Wow, thanks, this is a brilliant round-up. Definitely aiming to read a comic/graphic novel or two this year. I used to be a huge Manga-lover but haven’t read any graphic novels for a good year or two. You’ve inspired me 🙂

    Reply
    1. samcmar Post author

      Awesome! I’m glad you enjoyed the list. I used to love manga too, but it’s something I never entirely got back into. There were so many more I wanted to feature (and I still might). Lemme know what you think of some of them if you check them out!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Book Riot’s 2015 Read Harder Challenge — Update #1 | Cherry Blossoms & Maple Syrup

  3. Pingback: Ten More Comics & Graphic Novels You Should Check Out! | Cherry Blossoms & Maple Syrup

Leave a Reply

