ARC Review – Kissing Ted Callahan (and Other Guys) by Amy Spalding

18333999Title: Kissing Ted Callahan (and Other Guys)

Author: Amy Spalding

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: After catching their bandmates in a compromising position, sixteen-year-old Los Angelenos Riley and Reid become painfully aware of the romance missing from their own lives. And so a pact is formed: they’ll both try to make something happen with their respective crushes and document the experiences in a shared notebook.

While Reid struggles with the moral dilemma of adopting a dog to win over someone’s heart, Riley tries to make progress with Ted Callahan, who she’s been obsessed with forever-His floppy hair! His undeniable intelligence! But suddenly cute guys are popping up everywhere. How did she never notice them before?! With their love lives going from 0 to 60 in the blink of an eye, Riley and Reid realize the results of their pact may be more than they bargained for.

Huge thank you to Poppy and Netgalley for this ARC!

River’s Review:

Omfg I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH!!!! Riley is basically the person I wish I could have been in high school and she totally had the life that I wish I could have had. I loved her, her friends, her craziness, her family, her amazing taste in music and just everything! I loved the writing in this, it was quirky and fun and really fast paced. I was never bored while reading this and when I wasn’t reading it I wished I was!

So basically Riley and her band mate/ male BFF witness the other two members of their band doing it and then things get super weird between Riley and her female BFF and then Riley and her male BFF (Reid) decide that they want to get some too and even though the book isn’t really like OMG SEX!!! There are sexy times (but they’re really well done and I liked how sex was handled in this book) so Riley and Reid start a notebook where they write about their goals and who they want to date and how to date. They write a lot of personal stuff about the people that they’re interested in and it all just felt so fresh and authentic. Sometimes in YA the teens don’t always seem like TEENS, but like teens acting like adults and because of that I can see how reviews are saying that this is juvenile and immature but I actually thought it was much more authentic.

I loved how this just threw me back to my days of being super into music and going to shows and having friends who were in a band. I think my THE CRUSH was very similar to Ted and I acted like Riley did when she was around Ted and it was just so nostalgic for me.

If you like music, funny books, quirky narrators and kissing cute boys check this out!!!

One thought on “ARC Review – Kissing Ted Callahan (and Other Guys) by Amy Spalding

Leave a Reply

