Book Riot’s 2015 Read Harder Challenge — Update #3

Another month has come and gone, so it’s time to take a look back at what I completed in the month of March for my Book Riot 2015 Read Harder Challenge! March was a crummy month for this challenge as I only completed one challenge. Here’s what I tackled in March,

#15: Read a Retelling of a Classic Story

18106318

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

I have to say, I feel pretty mixed on this book. On one hand, I thought it was interesting to do a retelling of Beauty and the Beast where the heroine has been raised to murder the beast, but this book was a bit too all over the place. For starters, the love triangle was just odd in this book, and it was super insta-lovey to the point where some of it just didn’t entirely make sense. The book was also over-written in so many areas that while the writing itself was beauty, it was over-bearing at the same time. However, I loved a lot of the twists on the Beauty and the Beast story and it was a pretty engrossing read over all. I think their are better fairy-tale retellings out there, but this one wasn’t too bad.

The next Book Riot 2015 Read Harder update will be delayed next month because I will finally be taking my honeymoon with my husband! Which means I am going to read a lot on my vacation and just relax. Unfortunately, River and I are both swamped with life at the moment, so we will be scheduling reviews for things we do finish, but we won’t be going back to our main features until May-ish. Sorry for the inconvenience, but we hope you at least enjoy the reviews! There are lots of awesome books coming up and I can’t wait to share some of what I’ve read with you all soon.

Leave a Reply

