ARC Review – None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio

22896551Title: None of the Above

Author:  I.W. Gregorio

Rating: ★★★★ 1/2

Synopsis: What if everything you knew about yourself changed in an instant? When Kristin Lattimer is voted homecoming queen, it seems like another piece of her ideal life has fallen into place. She’s a champion hurdler with a full scholarship to college and she’s madly in love with her boyfriend. In fact, she’s decided that she’s ready to take things to the next level with him.

But Kristin’s first time isn’t the perfect moment she’s planned–something is very wrong. A visit to the doctor reveals the truth: Kristin is intersex, which means that though she outwardly looks like a girl, she has male chromosomes, not to mention boy “parts.”

Dealing with her body is difficult enough, but when her diagnosis is leaked to the whole school, Kristin’s entire identity is thrown into question. As her world unravels, can she come to terms with her new self?

Huge thank you to Balzer + Bray and Edelweiss for this ARC!

River’s Review:

Wow. I FLEW through this book. I could not put it down. I actually almost didn’t read this because I wasn’t sure if I’d like it, but wow, I’m so glad that I did. This is actually not my first time reading about intersex characters, I read Middlesex years ago and I watched a Japanese drama a few years ago that dealt with the same subject.

This book is heartbreaking in the way that it shows how fucking ignorant people are and how they react when tey don’t understand something. The MC, Kristen, finds out that she’s intersex, which means that she has both male and female characteristics in her sexual organs. She’s essentially a female but her fucking classmates think that she’s really a male and rather than trying to understand her they just freak out and bully her so much that she can’t even go to school.

Some of the characters in this made my blood boil. I was especially pissed off at her ex-boyfriend Sam for a lot of the shit he said. And I hated how her best friend handled the situation. But I also really loved some of the characters, and Kristen’s family was amazing. I wasn’t 100% behind the romance and I’m glad that it didn’t take a lot of the book up, and gave a nice little happy-ish ending, but I almost wish that they’d just stayed friends and had it left a little open ended.

My only real problem with the book was how passive Kristen was. I kept screaming at her STAND UP FOR YOURSELF! She let people push her around and scare her and I so badly wanted her to take a stand. To sap Sam across the face and educate him. To turn around and look her classmates in the eye and tell them that she’s not a man. To take some control. I understand that she was dealing with a lot and coming to terms with it on her own, but even at the end when she does kind of stand up for herself, even then I didn’t really feel like she was TAKING A STAND.

Overall I think this is a very important book and one that everyone should read.

Leave a Reply

