ARC Review – The Prom Goer’s Interstellar Excursion by Chris McCoy

21494581Title: The Prom Goer’s Interstellar Excursion

Author:  Chris McCopy

Rating: ★★★ 1/2

Synopsis: Just a few days before prom, Bennett pulls off something he never imagined possible: his dream girl, Sophie, agrees to be his date. Moments afterward, however, he watches Sophie get abducted by aliens in the middle of the New Mexico desert.

Faced with a dateless prom (and likely kidnapping charges), Bennett does the only thing he can think of: he catches a ride into outer space with a band of extraterrestrial musicians to bring her back.

Huge thank you to Random House Canada for this ARC!

Sam’s Review:

This book. This book will break your brain. With a title like The Prom Goer’s Interstellar Excursion there’s bound to be crazy, right? Absolutely. I wasn’t sure what I was getting myself into when I started reading this book, but it was a surprising amount of fun.

In fact, the book is downright insane. Bennett’s prom date is abducted by aliens, he also gets taken, he’s forced into a rock band, and it just goes from there. I mean, the characters live near Roswell, New Mexico, so everyone is insanely in some way in this story (loved the red neck who wanted to get abducted to the point where he’d just put himself out there, begging to be taken). Everyone is a little quirky, and rightful so given Roswell’s history. Bennett has no prospects in life, was lucky enough to get the girl of his dreams to go out with him and then those gosh darn aliens took her away.

And that’s just it. This book is crack, but it’s the kind of crack you have to be in the right mood for. This book runs on the appeal that you can throw your cares away and just accept Bennett’s reality for what it is. At times in the story it works really well, and other times it comes across a bit too easy (which sadly, is true of the ending). However, given the ending of the novel, I appreciated how McCoy ends the story, one which I won’t spoil, but I was pleasantly surprised by.

I don’t know why, but I loved the aliens and I thought they were a ton of fun. Call me strange, but I feel like hanging out with them would have been entertaining. That being said, I had a hard time with both Bennett and Sophie. I found Sophie a bit one dimensional at times, which made her hard to connect with, and Bennett was a bit too emo for my tastes. The story itself is insanely fun, but I struggled to make connections with the characters because the story was so extraordinary.

This book is unique, and if you love cracktastic books that will take you to a far off journey, this is a great one. However, it’s not some of those books that will reinvent wheel as it still features a lot of the YA tropes out there. Still, sometimes you just want a book that is cheeky and likeable, and The Prom Goes Interstellar Excursion fits the bill nicely.

Leave a Reply

