ARC Review – Until the Beginning by Amy Plum

22445886Title: Until the Beginning

Author: Amy Plum

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: When Juneau’s clan disappeared, she lost so much more than her friends and family. She soon discovered everything she thought she knew about her life was a lie. Her people’s gifts were actually secret abilities that others wanted, desperately enough to kidnap an entire village.

Juneau and her new companion Miles’s cross-country journey to find her clan has led them to a game preserve in New Mexico. Now Juneau’s people are finally within reach, and she will stop at nothing to save them. But she has a target on her back too, because unbeknownst to her she is the key to unlocking everything. To rescue her people – and herself – Juneau must discover what she, and her abilities, are truly capable of.

I read an ARC of this which was provided by a friend!

River’s Review:

I was SO excited to read this because After the End was one of my fav books from last year and I was DYING to find out what happened next! Well this was a really good conclusion to the two books and I enjoyed reading it so much!

We start EXACTLY where the first book left off and Miles is sleeping. Of course the author toys with us but he pulls through and they continue on to save Juneau’s clan. All our favorite characters from the first book show up, and there is an epic battle at the end.

While I loved this book a lot, I didn’t love it as much as the first book. There were some VERY sweet (and some very sexy) moments between Miles and Juneau, which I loved, but other than that the interactions between everyone fell a little short. Overall I actually think this book should have been longer and fleshed out a little more. I also would have liked more tension. The first book was so amazing because of all of the tension and the WTF IS GOING ON MOMENTS?!

I did like Miles’ character development though. It was so solid and he really grew into such a different person. I wish there’d been a much larger show down between him and his father though, I would have loved more!

I guess I just wanted more from this. And I’m sad that it’s over. But I still loved it a lot! And I really can’t say much more without giving away a lot of it. So I guess if you loved the first one you might be a little disappointed with this. But only a little.

One thought on “ARC Review – Until the Beginning by Amy Plum

  1. Alethea Chaney

    I finished After The End late last night and really couldn’t get into it. I didn’t enjoy the characters or the setting (see my book review for full rant 🙂 ) but does it pick up a lot in the second book or is the pace pretty much the same?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

