ARC Review – The Good Girls (The Perfectionists #2) by Sara Shepard

23171368Title: The Good Girls (The Perfectionists #2)

Author: Sara Shepard

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: Mackenzie, Ava, Caitlin, Julie, and Parker have done some not-so-perfect things. Even though they all talked about killing rich bully Nolan Hotchkiss, they didn’t actually go through with it. It’s just a coincidence that Nolan died in exactly the way they planned . . . right? Except Nolan wasn’t the only one they fantasized about killing. When someone else they named dies, the girls wonder if they’re being framed. Or are they about to become the killer’s next targets?

Huge thank you to Harper Teen for this ARC!

River’s Review:

So some weird things about me reading this book. First off, I would not have read it if Harper Teen hadn’t sent it to me. Second off, this is my first Sarah Shepard book! (I know, crazy right? I used to not like contemporary!) Third off, the only reason I was able to read it NOW is because for some reason I had downloaded THE PERFECTIONISTS off Edelweiss last year… and never read it. So I basically read THE PERFECTIONISTS and THE GOOD GIRLS back-to-back over the course of two and a half days. Which is so weird for me because I almost never read books back-to-back. I like to have a little space between them.

Buuuuut, I couldn’t wait! After joyfully whipping through THE PERFECTIONISTS I had to, no I HAD TO, know what was going on! And what was the twist?!

Basically in these two books a group of girls come up with a list of people they hate and how they’d like to see each person die. There’s one boy that they all hate and were hurt by, so they decide to prank him at a party. Only he ends up dead… exactly they way they’d fantasized. Then other people on the list start to drop and the girls start to question those around them and even themselves.

Sadly I saw the twist coming. I actually kinda guessed it at the end of THE PERFECTIONISTS, but kept hoping that it wasn’t true. I don’t like that kind of twist and it was already used in a book that came out a couple of months ago (didn’t like it in that book either). Aside from that I really loved the rest of this. It was suspenseful, dramatic (but not TOO dramatic) and I can totally see it as a TV show (and will watch it when it comes out!)

I’m not sure how these two books hold up against Shepard’s other books, but from what I know of PLL & TLG (from what I’ve seen on TV) it seems pretty similar. Pretty people doing bad things, getting caught up in murder and mysteries.

But the end, the VERY END… I’m not sure what to make from that. And I guess it’s up to the reader to decide if things are real or not.

Overall this was a fun way to spend my weekend and I’m so glad that I had the chance to pick these two books up!

Leave a Reply

