ARC Review – Get Dirty by Gretchen McNeil

16005224Title: Get Dirty

Author: Gretchen McNeil

Rating: ★★★★ 1/2

Synopsis: The members of Don’t Get Mad aren’t just mad anymore . . . they’re afraid. And with Margot in a coma and Bree stuck in juvie, it’s up to Olivia and Kitty to try to catch their deadly tormentor. But just as the girls are about to go on the offensive, Ed the Head reveals a shocking secret that turns all their theories upside down. The killer could be anyone, and this time he—or she—is out for more than just revenge.

The girls desperately try to discover the killer’s identity as their personal lives are falling apart: Donté is pulling away from Kitty and seems to be hiding a secret of his own, Bree is under house arrest, and Olivia’s mother is on an emotional downward spiral. The killer is closing in, the threats are becoming more personal, and when the police refuse to listen, the girls have no choice but to confront their anonymous friend . . . or die trying.

Huge thank you to Balzer + Bray and Edelweiss for this ARC!

River’s Review:

I was SO happy when I got this book because I love GET EVEN and the ending of that left me on such a cliffhanger! AH! So I danced a bit when I got this and knew that I had to read it ASAP. And wow, I blew through this in two days (only because I went to a BBQ and then had to sleep). I will admit that it took a little getting into and that I had to give myself a little refresher because there are a lot of characters. But once I got to around page 140 things started to really pick up and I couldn’t put it down!

I feel like I can’t say much about this without getting too spoiler-y, and since I don’t write ARC reviews with spoilers, I’ll keep this short. This is a WONDERFUL continuation of the first book and I’m glad that it’s just two books. I do feel like this was left open for more, but I always hate it when YA books with lots of murder in them keep going because… it just seems odd that a single place would have THAT many murders. Better to keep it short and sweet.

My only problem with this book, and the book before it, is that there are a lot of characters and I feel like not everyone got as fleshed out as they could have. I feel like we’re given each girls problems and issues but we don’t really get to explore those as deeply as I would like. And in this book the side characters come more into the foreground and while I loved this about some characters (my favorite, who was suspected of being the killer at the end, which had me almost in tears but thankfully THAT CHARACTER WASN’T YAAAAAAAY!) it did get a little difficult to keep track of everyone.

I’m usually really bad at figuring out “who dun it” in these types of books, but I took a wild guess AND I WAS RIGHT! I was so pleased that it was NOT my favorite character and that I’d been right! I do wish that we’d gotten a little more info about HOW the killer had pulled everything off because that was A LOT to pull off.

As for the “message” of this book… I liked that the girls began to realize that revenge wasn’t always the answer. That sometimes there’s more going on outside of what they can see that might be causing people to act the horrid ways that they do. While I like the noble idea of righting wrongs and fighting for justice, they didn’t always do it the right way and I’m glad that at the end they decided what they did about DGM and hopefully they can keep moving forward without having to take things into their own hands again.

Overall this is a solid conclusion to this duology and if you liked the first book then you’ll def. want to check this one out!

Leave a Reply

