ARC Review – The Revenge Playbook by Rachael Allen

23717499Title: The Revenge Playbook

Author: Rachael Allen

Rating: ★★★★ 1/2

Synopsis: In this poignant and hilarious novel, Rachael Allen brilliantly explores the nuances of high school hierarchies, the traumas sustained on the path to finding true love, and the joy of discovering a friend where you least expect.

Don’t get mad, get even!

In the small town of Ranburne, high school football rules and the players are treated like kings. How they treat the girls they go to school with? That’s a completely different story. Liv, Peyton, Melanie Jane, and Ana each have their own reason for wanting to teach the team a lesson—but it’s only when circumstances bring them together that they come up with the plan to steal the one thing the boys hold sacred. All they have to do is beat them at their own game.

Huge thank you to the publisher for sending me an advanced copy of this book!

River’s Review:

I must confess… I was not planning on reading this book. It came with a bunch of other ARC’s that I’d requested and I thought that I’d just pass this on to someone else who might enjoy it more. But then I was on twitter and saw that other people were reading it and enjoying it (even people who don’t usually read contemporary!) and I thought I’d give it a try.

And I read it in less than 24 hours. See my husband has been working in his lab a lot and I’ve been hanging out at home reading my face off. I read almost 250 pages of this in one sitting and only put it down to sleep. I then finish it on my lunch break at work the next day.

I was so engaged in this book.

Believe the reviews.

This is a book about four girls standing up against the douchebag football players at their school and the adults who let these boys get away with anything. Each girl in the group of four has been wronged by a football player and they want revenge. Someone was sexually assaulted, someone was dumped because she made a list of ‘girlfriends that must be dumped’, someone is always passed over in class because the boys get preferential treatment, and someone was dumped by her football player boyfriend because she wouldn’t have sex with him.

Que rage.

I was so surprised a how deep and sensitive the topics in this book were. I did not think that there was going to be sexual assault and The List (which goes through and tells some of the boys on the team which girls they need to dump because one girl friend is too fat, or another is a slut, or another is too ugly). I think the last time I was this ragefull while reading a book it was while reading All The Rage by Courtney Summers.

Also the adult participation in the stunts pulled by these boys made me sick. One girl is asked if she really wants to ruin the boy’s lives by stepping forward with the sexual assault allegations. Another is constantly being disrespected by a teacher who victim blames anytime one of the boys bothers her during class. I made me SO SICK that the adults where all ‘but state football! dont hurt the boys’ futures!!!’

I loved how the girls came together. None of them were friends, and two of them were estranged friends. But the friendship that they forge and the female comradery was A++. They have each other’s backs, they encourage and support each other. When one girl is called a slut they say SO WHAT IF YOU LIKE TO WEAR SHORT SKIRTS AND ENJOY HAVING SEX WITH YOUR BOYFRIEND. When another is made fun of for saving herself for marriage they say GOOD FOR YOU STICK TO YOUR PRINCIPLES. When another is basically being stalked by her ex-boyfriend and isn’t sure what to do they protect her and encourage her to cut him off totally and tell her that she was brave for getting out of such a toxic relationship. These girls were SO EMPOWERING. I loved it.

And I loved the way they went about getting revenge. They didn’t hurt anyone, they didn’t shame anyone. They take things into their own hands. They decide they’re going to steal some scared football from the team and they do it fair and square. The way the boys get the football (or else they have to walk onto the field naked before Homecoming) is by completing a scavenger hunt. And they girls do it too. And they are AWESOME at it.

Make sure you don’t pass by this book like I almost did because it is awesome.

One thought on “ARC Review – The Revenge Playbook by Rachael Allen

  1. citygirlscapes

    This is a great review and this sounds like a great book! I have a weakness for books about people defying the social structure of high school, but a lot of books fail hard at this and end up preachy or shameful. This sounds like it’s done right. I can’t wait to read it. – ashley

    Reply

Leave a Reply

