Ten More Comics & Graphic Novels You Should Check Out!

It seems as of late that a lot of book bloggers and tubers are looking for more gateways into comics and graphic novels. The beautiful part is for most, you can start just about anywhere. Capes (or super hero comics) are sometimes a bit trickier, but when in doubt, give what you find a shot. Sometimes there’s gems out there that perhaps you may not have considered. This post will feature another ten graphic novels that I think are great entry points. If you want to see the first round of recommendations, click here.

On to the recommendations!

3474928

The Atomic Robo series, by  Brian Clevinger, Scott Wegener

This series is a favourite of my husband and I’s. It’s quirky, crazy, and Robo really will steal your heart. Also, it features, probably the greatest villain of all time: DR. DINOSAUR. Seriously, Dr. Dinosaur is AMAZING, and any time he appears, I know I’m in for a good laugh. Robo’s time travelling, historical paradoxing adventures really can’t be beat, and they are a joy to read about. The series is also currently up to nine volumes, and really they don’t need to read in order, so check ’em out.

22718721

Exquisite Corpse by Pénélope Bagieu

Now I realize I just recently reviewed this one, and while I did find some fault in it, I actually think it’s an interesting graphic novel on a whole. You have three very unlikeable people, each with their own self-motivations, and a really fantastically well thought out ending. I actually quite love the art in this graphic novel as well, it’s very expressive and unique in its style. I realize this one won’t be for everyone, but if you like crappy people doing crappy things (which River and I seem to love for some reason), this one is worth looking into.

22752445

SuperMutant Magic Academy by Jillian Tamaki

LGBTQ friendly, insane characters on a whole, SuperMutant Magic Academy is for fans of the 90’s hit, Daria. There’s humour, cynicism, jam packed with a lot of unique and crazy looking characters. Also it has Frances, and if you read this and meet Frances, you’ll fall in love with her too. GO LOVE FRANCES. *cough* By that I mean, I reviewed this one as well. Jillian Tamaki’s art is raw and wonderful, and while you’re at it, check out her award-winning graphic novel, This One Summer, which she co-wrote with her cousin, Mariko.

6435893

I Kill Giants by Joe Kelly

If you are a fan of Deadpool, then Joe Kelly is a name you’re familiar with. I think Deadpool is fun and all, but this was the comic series for me that made me love him as a story teller. I Kill Giants is one of the most honest and interest portrayals of mental illness present in comics today. Barbara is a young woman who battles her inner thoughts and fears, wielding a giant hammer. There’s a lot of humourous moments, but honestly, this book left me thinking about how mental illness can affect people in extreme ways. It’s definitely worth checking out if you can find it.

3516953

How Mirka Got Her Sword (Hereville #1) by Barry Deutsch

Ever wanted to meet a spunky heroine who knits? Mirka fights dragons, knits, and fends off bullies. This book is fantastic in its look at how one girls stands up for herself. Mirka is fearless, strong, and she knows who she is. I love heroines like that. Really charming, and fantastic for younger readers as well. Plus, KNITTING!

22554204

Lumerjanes Vol 1. by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Brooke A. Allen

Lumberjanes is hilarious and adorable. It’s about summer camp, friendship, crazy monster slaying, and learning what it means to be a bad ass young lady. I devoured this when I got it, and I do keep having temptations to start making a pull list just to get this whenever it releases, but I am such a bind up freak. But yes, Lumberjanes is charming and it will make you grin from ear to ear. While you’re at it, also check out Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona

23622918

Wayward, Vol. 1: String Theory by by Jim Zub , Steven Cummings, John Rauch

Wayward was a random grab back when I went to the Toronto Comic Arts Festival. I was fortunate enough to meet Jim Zub, and he’s a really sweet guy (my husband may have also stole his spot for gaming group soooo…). The first thing you’ll notice when you read Wayward is that is has a gorgeous art style. Like, punch-you-in-the-face-gorgeous artwork. The story is very crazy, and follows a young girl making her way back home to Japan to live with her mother and guess what? She might have powers. Rori is a great, kick ass kind of heroine, and her growth is fantastic to watch.

3217221

Locke & Key series by  Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodríguez

Do you like creepy reads? If so, Joe Hill’s Locke & Key will definitely provide you with a good fright. The artwork also has this really dark, bulging quality about it, and it really brings this terrifying tale to life. The doors in this story will take you to terrifying places, and with six volumes, the creepiness just gets amped up to eleven. Definitely for mature readers though!

20898019

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson &  Adrian Alphona

Yes, everyone is raving about the new Ms. Marvel, and yes it’s as amazing as the hype will lead you to believe. Kamala Khan is what we want in our heroines: strong-willed, kind, quirky, and a lot of fun. She is written with such grace and style, and each installment gets better and better. Plus she has a bulldog named Lockjaw! A BULLDOG!

9615347

Anya’s Ghostby Vera Brosgol

I read this graphic novel a couple years back, and even when I reflect upon it, I still think it’s a fantastic. Anya’s Ghost is full of heart, and Anya was someone I found myself easily relating to especially in my high school years. The ghost that Anya meets is intriguing and reminded me a lot of the The Pusher from Clone High, and its interesting the lessons that both characters are forced to learn. This was such a page-turner, it’s got a lot of style, and a great sense of humor. Highly recommended for those looking for a great graphic novel out to teach a lesson about being one’s self and accepting that there are somethings within your personality or heritage that maybe you can’t change.

And there you have it! Some new comics and graphic novels to check out. If you have some gems you want to share with me, please do so in the comics! I’m always looking for recommendations.

Leave a Reply

