Cultural Accuracy in YA

Lately there has been a big push for more diversity in YA. Non-white main characters, non-American (non-Western) settings, LGBQTI characters, and so on. With that comes the challenge of writing not only diversely, but accurately. Often non gay or non POC authors get flack for not writing their gay or POC characters stereotypical and cliche. And I’m glad that this stuff is being addressed. It’s important that diversity isn’t used as a gimmick.

I take issue with books set in Asia that are not accurate. I’ve run across a few ‘white girl goes to ::insertAsiancountryHERE::’ novels that have thrown me into a rage. It’s a topic that I feel very close to, and I’ve decided to write about it here. I polled twitter and facebook and people are interested, so here we go.

179542_10100696192142385_2114367399_nBefore we get too far I want to say that while I am addressing accuracy in books set in Asia, Japan specifically, I am not an expert on Japan and Asia. I do feel that I am qualified to speak about this topic though because I lived in Japan for seven years. I did one year of study abroad in Tokyo while living with two host families and then after graduation I worked in Japan for another six years. I lived in Tokyo, Saitama, and Ibaraki. I worked for three different English teaching companies. I did my taxes in Japanese. I went to the hospital in Japanese. I got married to a Japanese man and have an extended family still in Japan. I might not still be living in Japan, but I have life experience there (I almost died twice!) Oh, and I have a minor in East Asian Studies. So that’s as far as my “authority” goes.

Japan is a beautiful country, Japanese is a difficult language, and the culture is very different 268770_10100219200966525_3845584_nfrom Western culture. One of the biggest issues I have with some of the YA books set in Japan is that the MC usually acclimates way too quickly. She (so far I’ve only read one book with a male MC) picks up the language in no time and never suffers from culture shock. In Ink, by Amanda Sun, our MC, Katie, moves to Japan to live with her aunt after her mother’s death. Not only is Katie dealing with grieving, she’s suddenly dumped in a new country. And yet she does FINE. We’re lead to believe that the dialogues are all in Japanese (which just was so confusing because it’s all written in English, hence it is a translation of the Japanese being spoken) and there is no way that Katie has mastered Japanese that quickly. In the book she often comments on her poor Kanji skills, but then she’s seen writing emails to her friends in Japanese. And with little trouble. There are a few times when we see her struggling, but her language skills (while not shown in actual Japanese) are pretty flawless. From my own experiences learning Japanese in class and learning Japanese on the street are two different things. When I moved to Japan for study abroad I had studied Japanese for three years in college. When I got there I thought I was the shit and would be able to communicate no problem. Instead I had a horrible time. I struggled so much. I even gave up after awhile. I did have friends that flourished and became very good at Japanese in a short period of time, but even then they weren’t fluent quiet yet. So unless Katie had some amazing secret language genius that the author didn’t let us in on, that was just totally unbelievable to me.

I also take issue with the lack of culture shock most MCs face. In both Ink and Katie M. Stout’s Hello, I Love You! (which was set in South Korea, so I can’t comment much on the Korean culture in this one) the MCs seem to have no trouble leaving their troubled pasts behind and flourishing in these new, unfamiliar places. Katie almost seems to forget about her mother and the most “culture shock” I saw her have was when she couldn’t eat karage (a type of fried chicken using sesame oil) for lunch and had to eat PB&J. Later on this is used to show Katie’s “growth” as she leaves her American-ness behind to embrace her Japanese self or something. It really bothered me that she never had any true culture shock. And not ‘oh this is a weird thing in Japan’ (that is not real culture shock), but the debilitating anxiety that comes before having to go use the ATM or send a package at the post office or get your hair cut. The feeling that it’s probably safer to stay inside where you don’t have to face something in a foreign language. Culture shock that myself and many of my friends faced when first living in Japan. Hello, I Love You‘s MC, Grace,  never even had jet lag, let alone culture shock. This is such a real thing and should be explored! I know that it probably takes away from what the author wanted the story to be about (romance in a foreign land) but it’s just not accurate at all.

574635_10100599906679225_1114244541_nMy number on biggest rage inducing trope in these books is the ‘white girl can’t use chopsticks’ stereotype. But Molly!, you cry, I’m a white girl and I can’t use chopsticks! I’ve tried! Well guess what, you weren’t taught properly. And if you were taught properly, you could do it. It’s NOT hard. And it makes me so mad that people think it is. And it makes me RAGEFULL when this is used to show growth. It’s not growth. When you learn how to use a fork does that show that you’ve really made strides as a person and have really come to accept the land around you? No. (Guess what, Japanese people can use forks! And spoons! And knives!) Also, being judgmental about food. I get that in a lot of these books the MC doesn’t want to go to whatever country they’re going to. They didn’t choose, and I did. But they should still try. I don’t understand the judgement. I recently read Holly Smale’s Geek Girl: Model Misfit. This book takes place in Japan, and it’s probably one of the best YA books set in Japan that I’ve read to date. The MC wants to go to Japan, has some interest, but she’s there as a tourist. She’s not expected to act like someone who’s living there, trying to assimilate. And I loved how fun it was to see Japan the way I saw it when I first went there. And that first time EVERYTHING IS AWESOME feeling isn’t in either Ink or Hello, I Love You! You might think it shouldn’t be in either of those books because both of the MCs are in Japan and Korea following some heavy issues, but I do feel like they should have experience some of that initial I’M HERE euphoria. That’s NATURAL of traveling anywhere (and, also, a stage of real culture shock!). I loved Geek Girl’s wide eyed fun view of Japan. And I loved how freaking accurate all of it was! (some of the Japanese romanizations weren’t 100%, but other than that, so good). I also loved that there was no judging of the food (or anything really).

The best book I’ve read that was set in Asia has to be Listen,
22477286Slowly, by Thaniha Lai. I don’t know much about Vietnam, but this book is about a young girl who’s, I believe, 3rd generation Vietnamese. She has no connection to the country other than it’s where her parents and grandmother are from. She knows maybe five words of Vietnamese, and has no interest in her heritage. She then has to go spend the summer there with her grandmother and the MC suffers culture shock, acceptance, and immersion. She also reconnects with her grandmother and starts to accept and show interest in her heritage. Now, this book doesn’t have a white MC (she is very American/ Western tho), so maybe that’s part of it, but also I believe the author has real experience in Vietnam or with Vietnamese culture. And I feel that therein lies the problem with a lot of these books. While they are researched, they aren’t lived. When I find out that an author didn’t truly LIVE (not stay, not visit, LIVE) in the country they’re writing about (and they claim they did) I can see how it falls into stereotypes and inaccuracies. With Ink I felt like I was reading a manga. With Hello, I Love You I felt like I was reading a Kdrama. When your source material is already fiction it’s difficult to construct your own accurate fiction.

Anyways, these are just a few thoughts I have on this topic (I have more!) and in no way is this post intended to attack the books and authors mentioned. I believe that the authors tried their best, but at the same time could have done better to keep things more accurate. I am not critiquing the stories or the writing, only the inaccurate portrayals of what it’s like to be a foreigner (specifically a western female) living abroad in an Asian country.

295113_10100599907248085_553024258_nFeel free to leave me your thoughts in the comments and let’s have a dissuasion! Also, I’m interested in hearing about if you have any experience with books set in countries that you have experience in! For example, I’ve had a few British friends have trouble with Anna and the French Kiss! I’d love to know more about the inaccuracies that take place in books set in other countries as well!

9 thoughts on “Cultural Accuracy in YA

  1. Creatyvebooks

    I appreciate your honesty. There so much needed discussion when it comes to diversity in YA. I honestly feel like some authors are jumping on the bandwagon because it’s “cool” and that pisses me off to no end.

    As a WoC I wish white authors would do the proper research about any culture instead on relying on stereotypes and what they “think” they know. It’s that simple. Especially, since their work are read by many teens who impressible at that age.

    Sadly, there are some that have not met a PoC or someone of another culture so what they read a see holds weight on their worldview. That’s why I stress research. It’s so simple. A library or ask somebody.

    This is a great post and hope it keeps the discussion open.

    Reply
    1. river Post author

      YES! I feel like it’s become a trend more than anything and it makes me sad that people are jumping on it because it’s hot and not because they actually have a story to tell.

      omg yes I totally agree with you. I feel that along with research they need to speak to people who have LIVED in the culture. Like, if Sun had spoken to current foreigners residing in Japan she would have known not to use the word ‘gaijin’ (impolite Japanese for outsider/ foreigner) the way she did in her first book (something that made me cringe so much).

      Thank you so much for your comment, it means a lot to me!

      Reply
      1. Creatyvebooks

        I don’t want it to be a trend. I want it to be reality and this is why blog post like yours is highly important. I know this will not change over night but I hope that by continuing to talk about it, publishing companies and authors and the Hollywood media machine will finally listen. All cultural (non-stereotypical) presentation is important.

        Research people. Research. And I agree with you–living in said culture is even better.

  2. Sarah K

    I love this post! Racial diversity, in accuracy in diversity and just the plain LACK of racial diversity in YA has become an important issue to me. I found this post extremely interesting and I’ve also heard the major problems with Hello I Love You. Thanks for writing it!

    Reply
    1. river Post author

      Thank you so much for reading! I’m glad that I’m not the only one who’s upset with the lack of accuracy in diverse books.

      Reply
  3. cwreads

    This is something that’s very close to my heart, and I enjoyed your discussion on this topic. As an Asian woman, too often my culture has been used as some sort of ‘rite of passage’ for the white character, or non-white characters or cultures have been dehumanized or exoticized to create superficial situations that ‘challenge’ the white character, because of our Otherness or difference, which then does nothing but perpetuate racist stereotypes that are harmful and hurtful.

    So I agree, I think including diversity is important, but accuracy through researching and actually talking to people who have had that lived experience is more so.

    Reply
    1. river Post author

      You’re welcome for writing, thank YOU for reading! I’m glad that I’m not the only one. And I can’t even imagine how heartwrenching it must be… well I guess I can to an extent since I saw a lot of American stereotyping in Japan, but to read it and see it butchered, it must hurt.

      YES! I feel that even if authors research and visit, if they don’t actually speak to the people they writing about (both local and foreign alike) then they really don’t have a leg to stand on.

      Reply
  4. cwreads

    It is heartwrenching, and I think the worst part is that many non-White youth just grow up and are told to just live with it, or engage in perpetuating those stereotypes as way to cope with it. They become complacent or worse perpetrators in their helplessness. Worst cases are people disassociating with their heritage, and identifying as White, because the media’s representation of their ethnicity invokes feelings of shame, embarrassment, guilt, and self-hate.

    Absolutely, and I think when literature and media is such an important avenue of learning, things should be as accurate, authentic, and well-researched as possible.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: How to Bring Diversity to Your Story | Quill Shift Literary Agency

Leave a Reply

