Book Riot’s 2015 Read Harder Challenge — Update #5 & Read-a-thon Outcomes

Hello! It’s another end of the month, which means it’s time for an update on my Book Riot 2015 challenge. Here’s a reminder of the books I am reading for this year long challenge! June saw me accomplish only two books, which was unexpected and better than I was expecting! So far I have read 14/24 books for this challenge.  (A Reminder of all the 2015 BR Reader Harder Categories!)

#18 A Book Someone Else Has Recommended To You

19321432

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

So for this Book Riot Challenge I let River make the selection, and she loved this book last year. I actually have had this book even before it released (it was an ARC I won from Epic Reads) and I just adored the characters in the story. I loved Ezra and his struggles, I loved that the romance didn’t actually follow through and over all Schneider does a great job in exploring how relationships form and fall apart. I high recommend this book! I read it in two sittings!

#9: A book that is by or about someone of an Indigenous Culture 

22662902

The Back of the Turtle
by Thomas King

Those of you who know me quite well, know I adore Thomas King’s works. I’ve read a large chunk of them and they are always filled with charm, humor, with an over-arching plotline usually related either to environmentalism, native issues, or a combination of the two. The Back of the Turtle is a chunker of a book, but reading it never felt that way. I always love reading about books that take place in the city I live in, and King’s imagery and uses of magical realism are quite wonderful. The characters are wonderful and quirky, and I feel like they will have the staying power of the ones from Green Grass, Running Water (which I always encourage folks to read because it’s hilarious). But yeah, I’m glad I got the chance for my challenge to read another one of his books!


CGCdiO4XIAA4Hxw

At the beginning of the month I participated in the #TBRTakedown hosting by @leaninglights on Twitter, and that was such a fun readathon. In it, she offered a variety of challenges, and I read ten books! However, I actually did fail the challenges as I did not get to “Stone in the Sky” which would have completed the challenge “Read a sequel to a series you’ve started.” I read a lot of graphic novels that week, but even though I didn’t finish the one challenge, I am still insanely proud of myself! I hope that @leaninglights does this readathon again because I’d be so in again.


CHQcP9WWgAA3smP

So the #rainbowthon occurred from June 15th to the 22nd, and this was my TBR for that week. I managed to read everything by A Court of Thorns and Roses, which I didn’t get around to, but I will be starting soon because Melissa has been telling me through Twitter that she needs someone to fangirl this book with. I WILL GET TO IT, MELISSA!

But I did like the three books I managed to get to. Fin & Lady was an interesting histoical novel that looks at human relationships in the 1960’s. I spent much of the novel yelling at Lady’s poor choices, but I so absorbed in the story. Like it Never Happened I ended up reviewing and quite enjoyed!


 CITCVFWWsAAVnjXAnd then on June 26th I participated in the 24 hour #crushyourtbr readathon, and I managed to read five books. This picture was of my tentative TBR, and I did read quite a chunk of this pile. I compleyed the following:

  • The Divine, by Asaf Hanuka, Tomer Hanuka, Boaz Lavie
  • The Color of Water, by Kim Dong Hwa
  • Studio Ghibli: The Films of Hayao Miyazaki and Isao Takahata by Colin Odell & Michelle Le Blanc
  • Hold Me Closer by David Levithan
  • East of West Vol. 1: The Promise by Jonathan Hickman & Nick Dragotta (not featured, read digitally)

So I have to say, I’m proud of myself for tackling five books from my TBR. My goal is to keep working through my own personal collection, which is why in July I am putting myself on a library book ban (I will read what I recently took out, but no more after that for awhile), and I am going to try and cut back on the graphic novel reading because omg I love graphic novels, but I’m not working on my larger TBR. Especially want to keep working on my Book Riot 2015 Challenge and my Month By Month one (which I am super failing at the moment). So we’ll see?

Wha have you read or participated in for the month of June?

Leave a Reply

