River & Sam’s Fave Books of June

It’s time for another Fave of the Month! And let’s just say, River and I equally read a crap ton of books in June. I can actually state, confidently, that I read 54 books (though keep in mind, a good chunk were graphic novels), but still, that’s a lot more than I’m usually capable of. We both saw great reading months, and it’s time to share our favourites.

River’s Pick:

24807186

Wold by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

An alternate history novel where Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule the world. These are always scary, scary books to read, and it sounds like it takes cues from The Man in the High Tower by Philip K. Dick. The more River has told me about this novel, the more I need to get my hands on it and devour it. Sounds like Ryan Graudin has a real knack for great YA historical fiction.

Sam’s Pick:

23014725

Delicate Monsters by Stephanie Kuehn

I feel like I’ve chatted a lot about this book on the blog for the past month, but admittedly I cannot help myself. This book was horrific, creepy, messy, and made of mind-f*ckery. I kept me glued the page, constantly guessing, and making me feel like I was suffocating in a story of scary people doing horrific things… and I love for the book for that. Stephanie Kuehn writes novels that don’t shy away from the ugliness that can be inside people, and I’ll continue to read her novels because she always offers a perspective that I haven’t thought as deeply about as perhaps I should.

What was your favourite read in the month of June? We’d love for you to share your thoughts in the comments!

Leave a Reply

