ARC Review – Paperweight by Meg Haston

23361172Title: Paperweight

Author: Meg Haston

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: Seventeen-year-old Stevie is trapped. In her life. In her body. And now in an eating-disorder treatment center on the dusty outskirts of the New Mexico desert. Life in the center is regimented and intrusive, a nightmare come true. Nurses and therapists watch Stevie at mealtime, accompany her to the bathroom, and challenge her to eat the foods she’s worked so hard to avoid.

Her dad has signed her up for sixty days of treatment. But what no one knows is that Stevie doesn’t plan to stay that long. There are only twenty-seven days until the anniversary of her brother Josh’s death—the death she caused. And if Stevie gets her way, there are only twenty-seven days until she too will end her life.

Huge thank you to the publisher for sending me an advanced copy of this book!

River’s Review:

I. LOVED. THIS. BOOK. I read it in a day and was like, addicted to it.

Let me say this right away: this book is not a ‘I’m so fat and want to get thin, I’ll just stave myself’ book. And yes this is an eating disorder book and yes it could be very triggering to people with eating problems.

Stevie wont eat. She can’t eat. Food triggers horrible memories for her. She drinks her pain away, and has a goal. She wants to waste away into nothing so that she dies on the anniversary of her brother’s death. And she’s well on her way to doing so. Only her father finally sees that his daughter is sick and he sends her to a treatment facility.

Stevie’s food issues were so hard for me to read. I had a lot of food issues myself and while I do eat, it is sometimes a struggle. My stomach is connected to my emotions and stress makes me so sick that food will not happen. When my grandmother died I didn’t eat for weeks. And ever since then I have issues with food when I’m stressed or upset. This is my thing, so please don’t tell me what I should do, I am working on it. So I totally connected with Stevie on this. She doesn’t starve herself because she wants to be thin to be pretty. And often I feel like eating disorder books don’t go any deeper than that.

I really loved Stevie’s time spent in the facility. She has a lot of issues to overcome; her mother’s abandonment, her brother’s death, her best friend’s betrayal. She spends time trying to figure out how to not eat so she can stick with her plan. And the people around her are trying to help. But how do you save someone from themselves?

I loved this book so much. I know I keep saying that but I did. It struck some chords with me, the writing was beautiful, and there were so many truths about life. It made me sad and mad and I wanted to cry so many times. This is a must read!

One thought on “ARC Review – Paperweight by Meg Haston

Leave a Reply

