Five Summer Contemporary Novels I Need to Read This Summer

It’s July and it officially feels like summer is here. I admit, I have so many books I want to read this summer, but what I love is how it puts me in a contemporary mood. I love reading contemporary middle grade and young adult during the summer months, especially out in my backyard or at the beach. I thought for today’s book chat I’d discuss five contemporary novels I have on my shelf that I NEED to read this summer. Note; I am mainly focusing on books I own and have my possesion, trust me there’s tons of summer contemporary books that haven’t released yet that I must get my hands on (Hello, Dumplin’!)

Untitled-4

The Night We Said Yes
by Lauren Gibaldi

My co-blogger River absolutely ADORED this book when she read it early in the year (you can see her review for more details), so of course I had to get a copy of this. Well, actually, River got me a copy of this so I am eagerly waiting for an opportunity to take this book outside in my backyard with a glass of white wine and dig into it. River described the book to me as being fast-paced, romantic and apparently it’s big on music? I am so in.

18525657

Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend
by Katie Finn

I am still relatively new to Morgan Matson/Kate Finn. I’ve only read Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour and I absolutely adored it. I own both this book and Since You’ve Been Gone and feel like either pick would be worthy of a summer beach read. This one I got from my Library Shower last year (I’ve been married almost a year, omg) and I’m slowly working through all the books I got. This one looks like it has a lot of humour and little bit of trashiness that I think will make it a ton of fun to read.

18667779

Everything Leads to You
by Nina LaCour

I loveloveloveloveloved Hold Still by Nina LaCour when I read it last year. Heck, I even named it a a Fave of the Month when I had read it. Hold Still was such an emotionally raw and destructive novel in how it plays with your emotions and leaves you drained. I’ve heard that Everything Leads to You is by far LaCour’s best novel to date, and this would totes knock out my Read An LGBTQI novel for my Book Riot Reading Challenge. Score!

24878695

Don’t Fail Me Now
by Una LaMarche

Una LaMarche is another author whose books I’ve heard tons about and never read. While this book isn’t out yet, Razorbill Canada provided me with an ARC that I can definitely enjoy, as it releases at the end of August. This book looks at family relationships and features a POC protagonist, and it’s a road trip story about two girls who want to meet their biological father that they have in common. Sounds like a great family and friendship story. I’m in!

16065465

Life After Theft
by Aprilynne Pike

I have read a few of Aprilynne Pike’s novels, mostly her paranormal stuff, but actually bought this book when it released and never got to it. This book deals with karma, fitting in, and tough decisions. Plus it’s a sort of retelling of The Scarlet Pimpernel, one of the few classic novels that I outright LOVE to pieces. I feel like it’s time to check this one out, and while the reviews are mixed, I’m curious to see what I will think of it.

And there you have it! These are five contemporary reads I’d like to get to before the summer is done. A lot of these are books I’ve owned for awhile, but I mean I own so much contemporary it’s nuts (I mean I have Anatomy of Misfit, Open Road Summer, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, all still sitting and waiting to be read. I stink!).

What are five contemporary novels you’d like to get to this summer? Also I feel like we need River’s Picks. I think she’d have some very different choices than I would. 🙂

Leave a Reply

