Late to the Party ARC Review – A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824Title:  A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Rating:  ★★★

Synopsis: When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Huge thank you to Indigo Teen for sending me this ARC as part of a giveaway!

Sam’s Review:

This is probably going to be an unpopular opinion, but I thought this book was all right. Frankly, I had been putting it off since it released because the hype levels were just absolutely insane and I had a hunch that this book might have not been for me. Let’s just say, while I found this book engrossing, it was also kind of ridiculous as well.

Truthfully, I had a hard time with the romance in this book. It just read as melodrama, which I’m fine with actually. The amount of angst, tug and pull between Feyre and Tamlin was like popping candy. However, that rape-that-wasn’t-a-rape is something that did very much upset me, and I honestly wish fantasy authors would stop including that in a book to give their female protagonists agency. It’s just not acceptable and there are so many other ways to do that than resorting to rape.

Furthermore, I don’t like the men in this novel. With the except of Rhys, I found Lucian and Tamlin read in such a one-dimensional way. I couldn’t get over how many times the author used the word “growl” or “snarl” to describe Tamlin, especially when for a Beauty & the Beast retelling he is described as a super hot fae man. THAT’S NOT A BEAST. He’s just a grumpy fae man who SNARLS A LOT. I mean I guess hot guys can be ‘beasts’ but I just had such a hard time buying it in the story because Feyre was just so in love but tormented by him.

Oddly, I found I liked the female cast a bit more. I wanted to know more about Nesta and I liked what we learned about Feyre’s story and her life before becoming captive. In a lot of ways I wish there had been more backstory because those were the parts over the romance that I enjoyed. I actually thought the ending was pretty solid too. I appreciate that Feyre was comfortable with herself — she never seemed insecure, and she has quite a bit of sexual prowess which I think helped her personality in the story. I don’t think she’s a Katniss wannabe that some people peg her for, but I think she has just enough layers to counteract how much of a caricature her love interest is.

But here’s the thing about this book I WILL agree with: it’s candy, the kind of candy that you can just keep turning the pages and be completely glued to the story. You want to know why the story is ridiculous, you want to see if the characters are going to grow and mature (short answer: they don’t), and here’s the even bigger revelation: I can totally see the appeal of why people love this book, even if I disagree. It’s easy to get swept up in the melodrama and the sexual tension because there’s so much of it. Hell, I have to admit it happened on occasion to me when reading the story.

Admittedly, I am super sure I am going to read book two. Even though I found this book to be a ball of melodrama and candy page-turning, I enjoyed my time with it and I found it to be a great escape from reality. It wasn’t even mindless, it was just so easy to be invested in the drama that these characters face, even if at times it was rather silly. While I am not sold yet on Sarah J. Maas as a writer, I am interested to see how much melodrama gets ramped up in book two.

One thought on “Late to the Party ARC Review – A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. aentee @ read at midnight

    I agree with your assessment. I find SJM books very underwhelming in general actually. I liked the second half of this book a lot cos Rhys but literally nothing happened in the first 60%. And yasss more Nesta please’

    Reply

Leave a Reply

