Summer Contemporary Fling – The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

22429350Title:  The Start of Me and You

Author: Emery Lord

Rating:  ★★★★ 1/2 / ★★★★★

Synopsis: Brimming with heartfelt relationships and authentic high-school dynamics, The Start of Me and You proves that it’s never too late for second chances.

It’s been a year since it happened—when Paige Hancock’s first boyfriend died in an accident. After shutting out the world for two years, Paige is finally ready for a second chance at high school . . . and she has a plan. First: Get her old crush, Ryan Chase, to date her—the perfect way to convince everyone she’s back to normal. Next: Join a club—simple, it’s high school after all. But when Ryan’s sweet, nerdy cousin, Max, moves to town and recruits Paige for the Quiz Bowl team (of all things!) her perfect plan is thrown for a serious loop. Will Paige be able to face her fears and finally open herself up to the life she was meant to live?

Huge thank you to Bloomsbury and Netgalley for this ARC!

Sam’s Review:

This was my first Emery Lord book. I admit, I was afraid to tackle it given the high praise of Open Road Summer (which I own, but haven’t read yet). I was nervous to go into this considering how much a lot of my blogger friends love her books, but I’m glad I read this. The Start of Me and You, though it has a rocky start, ends on a satisfying note.

First off, I want to talk about Paige. I love the way she was written because unlike a lot of young adult novels, she felt and acted her age. Lord does this amazing job of making her voice and mannerisms so authenticate that when Paige behaves a certain way, it feels believable or right in the context of the situation. She’s nerdy, shy, a little reserved, and yet she wants to grow and become a stronger individual. She has aspirations for herself and her self-esteem, and she’s easy to cheer for because you see she wears her imperfections on her sleeve.

Paige faces the tragedy of her boyfriend dying in an accident, and she struggles to open her heart again. Enter Max, who by far might be one of the first YA love interests in awhile that I can say I rooted for. Max is darling, he’s hilarious, and capitalizes on his social awkwardness. In way, it makes him charming, darling and just plain funny. He has a lot of heart and like Paige struggles to put himself out there, but where he differs is that he’s more willing to make mistakes, get hurt, and learn from it. Lord provides both Paige and Max with a lot of depth, and what we have is a relationship that develops in a beautiful, organic way. There’s no insta-love, but you get this shy and awkward interaction between the two that feels very realistic.

Lord also does an amazing job of writing friendships. In a way it reminds me of reading a Robin Benway novel, where the protagonist has well developed friends who feel like real people and can be counted on. I thought Tessa and Kayleigh were adorable and I loved how much they cared for Paige and wanted her to grow as well. Heck, I even liked the way Paige’s family was portrayed, especially the relationship she has with her grandmother. I thought that was richly described and wonderfully touching. Not a lot of people can say they are super close to their grandparents, but Paige’s relationship with hers felt very strong, which is why I think it hurt all the more.

Like I said from the beginning, this is my first Emery Lord book and it definitely won’t be my last. I really enjoyed the level of depth that Lord carved into the relationships within the narrative and how everything felt neatly woven together. The book does have a difficult start and it might not capture the reader if you aren’t in the right mood to read a book like this. The Start of Me and You will tug at your heart-strings, and give you a story full of wonderful relationships and realistic characters.

River’s Review:

Last year I read Open Road Summer and was not impressed with it. I almost didn’t pick this book up, but I did. And I read half the first chapter and put it down. I wasn’t going to read it. Then I won a copy and Sammy added it to our Summer Contemporary Fling list sooooo I picked it back up.

And this book broke me. It was SO good (so much better than ORS in my opinion) and I just devoured it. I loved the friendships, I loved Paige’s voice, I LOOOOVED Max, and I love the family aspect too.

In this book Paige struggled with being The Girl Who’s Boyfriend Died. Two months into dating Aaron he dies in an accident and Paige is just left… floating in the wind. She’s torn between the fact that she wasn’t REALLY a huge part of his life (or his her) and how much she feels she should be grieving especially in comparison with his life long friends and family. Paige is terrified of drowning (how he died) and she struggles with PTSD as well. I thought this was interesting because Paige has this awful position of people feeling sorry for her and then herself questioning how much she should allow herself to feel sorry for herself. And she constantly asks herself if it’s okay to be happy. So she decides that this next year will be the year she gets back out there and she makes a plan (she’s a super realist and planner) to make the next year great.

And part of the plan is to date her super crush, Ryan Chase. Ryan used to be the golden boy but his longtime girlfriend breaks up with him over the summer and he basically falls down the social scale. Ryan is a cool guy tho, and he’s best friends with his cousin, Max. Paige randomly gets on Ryan’s radar and she befriend’s Max with the slight (but not like FULL) intention of getting closer to Ryan. Slowly Ryan and Max get pulled into Paige’s circle of friends and they all become really close. I LOVED this dynamic so much. I loved the girlfriend friendships and I loved the guy friend relationships. Each girl in the group has her own personality and while I enjoyed them, there were times I couldn’t keep them all totally straight. But other than that, the group was just so dynamic and I loved them.

Paige also has this amazing relationship with her grandmother and omg, that was such a bittersweet thing for me. I was SUPER close to my grandmother and when she died of cancer it was DEVASTATING for me. Paige’s grandma doesn’t have cancer, but she does have Alzheimer and lives in an assisted living center… much like my living grandmother at the moment. So that just made me cry like a million times and made this book so much personal for me.

I really loved Max and I loved his relationship with Paige. It was very much the perfect contemporary romance and I loved the growth of their friendship, the tension as they became something more, and the issues they faced with each other. It was just so emotional.

There were just SO many things in this book that really hit a lot of the right notes for me. I loved the family dynamic and how it was different but that the parents were present, I loved the sibling relationship and how it was there in the background. I loved the little side friendship that Tessa and Max had. I loved that Ryan and Paige became actual real friends. I loved that Paige and her friends seemed like actual real teens. And I even loved the down to earth teacher that pushed them and seemed like a real person.

This book was SO good and now I can’t wait for Lord’s next book!

Leave a Reply

