ARC Review – Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

17661416Title: Made You Up

Author: Francesca Zappia

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar.

Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal.

Huge thank you to Greenwillow Books & Edelweiss for this ARC!

River’s Review:

I LOVED THIS BOOK! I lived the writing style, the wacky school, Alex’s humor and sincerity and MILES! I freaking LOVED Miles! And their whole little group. It was such a colorful cast of characters.

This is a story about a girl named Alex who has paranoid schizophrenia. She often hallucinates and takes photos with her digital camera to help her understand what’s real and fake. The story starts off with her as a child trying to free the lobsters in the lobster tank at the grocery store. She meets a boy who has the bluest eyes she’s ever seen… and later learns that the whole thing was a delusion.

Years later she’s in her senior year of high school. Getting her last chance. She didn’t do so well in her last school (due to paranoia about communists and a spray paint incident) and you get the feeling that if she doesn’t prove herself this time around something bad is going to happen.

Alex is quirky and not just because of her schizophrenia. She’s just a wacky girl with a good sense of humor. I loved her voice and I loved being inside of her head. So often people are scared of schizophrenics and this really helped me to understand what it might be like for people who suffer from schizophrenia. I felt for Alex and she broke my heart more than once. Towards the end of the book we learn a very sad truth that is devastating for Alex and my heart just broke.

Mile’s is an incredibly interesting character. He’s a genius, he’s a jerk, he’s king of the school. He does ‘jobs’ for people who pay him money to get revenge, get them out of tests, and other odd ball things. He does this because it gives him power. Without that he’s just a nerd from a bad home who gets bullied. And he faces off with Alex, pulling pranks on her, and her pulling them back on him. They slowly form a bond thought and he later figures out that she’s schizophrenic. But he’s very good about it, and takes care of her. There are some of THE sweetest moments between the two of them. And I just loved him. And I also loved how she took care of him when he needed help.

The school they go to is almost it’s own character. There’s a lot of weird stuff going on and I just loved how it added to the story as an almost living background.

Pick this book up guys. It’s brilliant and amazing!

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “ARC Review – Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

  1. aentee @ read at midnight

    This one sounds like a fantastic contemporary! Great review! I also love the cover of this book, watercolour effects will never get old for me haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s