Late to the Party ARC Review – Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

23281652Title:  Daughter of Deep Silence

Author: Carrie Ryan

Rating:  ★★★★

Synopsis: In the wake of the devastating destruction of the luxury yacht Persephone, just three souls remain to tell its story—and two of them are lying. Only Frances Mace knows the terrifying truth, and she’ll stop at nothing to avenge the murders of everyone she held dear. Even if it means taking down the boy she loves and possibly losing herself in the process.

Huge thank you to Razorbill Canada for this ARC!

Sam’s Review:

When I requested this book, I was super excited. I love Carrie Ryan’s prose, and while I often find faults in her storylines, I still adore how she illustrates them. Then the reviews poured in, and I was hesitant. I feel silly waiting as long as I did to read this, because darn it, I enjoyed the crap out of this book. It’s not without some issues, but this book read like candy, which is perhaps why I enjoyed it so much.

While this book is very much a romance novel, it has a really well described mystery component. Frances assumes the identity of a passenger of the of the luxury yacht Persephone, and is one of the only survivors after it sinks. She is forced to become someone she isn’t in order to uncover a mystery about what happened behind the tragic event. Let me tell you — Ryan does this bit very well, making it not confusing (which can sometimes happen in a story like this) and she makes Frances transformation very fun to read about. She gets to be a sort of double agent, but not quite. Admittedly, for the most part, I dug her character. I loved her strength and gusto, but I loved how she knew when to be herself, and then be her alter-ego. I love that she understands the importance of staying in character, but she doesn’t want to lose who she truly is either. Is she likeable? Not at all, but on the flipside, she makes for an interesting person to read about.

If I’m being honest, there’s no one who is actually totally likeable. Morales is kind of all over the place, Shepard is a tool, and yet… I couldn’t stop reading about these awful characters! There was something about them being horrific and unappealing that caused me to turn the pages. This is a rare case for me where the story was so much more compelling than the characters, and I found I just had to know where it was going to go and how it was going to end. Here’s the other thing: you REALLY have to suspend your disbelief for this novel to work, which is why I think the reviews are so polarizing. There’s huge chunks in the plot that feel utterly ridiculous, but so compulsively readable! I read this book in two train rides from my commute, and let me tell you: I didn’t tear my eyes from the pages because this book was just so fun, and turning pages was like popping candy.

Is there’s anything I will criticize, it’s the romance. Yes, there is a romance in the book, and yes it plays a larger role than I would have liked. Grey wasn’t the most exciting love interest, and if anything, he was kind of a push over at times. The romance in this book felt too puppy-loveish considering the mystery that is presented throughout the story. This element does come across problematic, especially towards the end of the novel when it feels less about the revenge plot and more about her hooking up with Grey. I mean, we go from 200 pages of crazy excitement, action, and just plain fun, to this weird sort of desperation for a guy who is totally connected to the murder of Frances family. I struggled to buy that sort of Hollywood plotline where enemies become lovers — it’s not a favourite of mine, and sadly it didn’t work here for me either.

But still, this book was bizarrely fun to read, and totally out of my comfort zone. Carrie Ryan is worth reading because her promise is gorgeous and her stories are just so compulsively readable. It’s ultimately why I enjoy her as an author, and while this book is utterly ridiculous at times, I seriously cannot deny the amount of enjoyment I had reading Daughter of Deep Silence. Carrie Ryan knows how to suck her readers in, and don’t let the reviews sway you, if you can suspend your disbelief, there’s is a fun story to be had here.

 

One thought on “Late to the Party ARC Review – Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

Leave a Reply

