Sam’s July Book Haul

Another month, another pile of books. I really tried to control my buying, and in the end I only bought four books! Everything else was either sent by friends, publishers, or through a book swap. Let’s see what I got.

giveaway1 giveaway2

I won two giveaways back in June, and the books arrived this month. I got Mayumi and the Sea of Happiness by Jennifer Tseng through a Goodreads giveaway hosted by Peguin Canada. The second came from Olivia @ The Candid Cover, and I won her June Giveaway Hop, so I was allowed to pick a June release. I ended up picking The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes which I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about. After Jennifer Mathiu’s Devoted, I’m up for another book that may be similar.

purchased1

I ended up purchasing two books this month from Indigo. I flew through Me, Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews and I’m so happy I finally read it. I hope to see the film to compare differences and similarities. Hopefully I see it before it’s completely out of theatres. I also got the final book of the Paper Gods trilogy, Storm by Amanda Sun. I need to know how my new favourite anime-esque novel is going to end!

bookswap

On July 11th I had the chance to attend the Toronto Book Swap @ The Central. Let’s just say, it was chaos! Lots of people trading books, sharing their love of literature. It was a good event minus some unfriendly folks who attended. In the end I gave five books to the swap and took three, which were: North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley, Prom & Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg, and From the Notebook of Melenin Sun by Jacqueline Woodson. I also grabbed The Color of Heaven by Kim Dong Hwa, which I finally found, meaning I can complete this series. I am beyond excited!

coblogger lizzach

Then more book swapping happened as my co-blogger, River, and friends Liz and Zach also sent me books!

From River:

  • The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi
  • Prep School Confidental by Kara Taylor
  • The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury
  • A Curious Tale of In-Between by Lauren DeStenfano (!!!!!)

From Liz @ Consumed by Books

  • The Devil You Know by Trish Doller
  • The Queen of Kentucky by Alecia Whitaker

From Zach:

  • Machine of Death by Ryan North et al.

THANK YOU SO MUCH YOU GUYS! I cannot wait to read these!

simonteenThen Simon Teen Canada sent me this beauty, Stand-off by Andrew Smith. Which, omg I am excited for considering we just read Winger for our Summer Contemporary Fling event we just finished hosting! And uh, if you haven’t read Winger, GO DO IT NOW. NOW NOW NOW.

pancakes

And then there’s Inspector Pancakes Helps the President of France. This is a… super inappropriate at times picture book that I Kickstarted and this was one of my backer rewards. It’s really funny, kind of disturbing, and some dark humour. It’s definitely not for kids, but look at how misleading it is! Inspector Pancakes, I still love you!

uppercasejuly

While I ended up already reading and owning a copy of this month’s July Uppercase Box, I decided I am still keeping up with the service. I LOVED Finding Audrey, so I am happy that I can give this extra copy to someone else who I think will love it too (and before anyone asks, it’s already gone and spoken for! Sorry!). But I love the amount of thought that goes into subscription boxes (and I never seem to have luck with OwlCrate, one day!). I loved the socks, which I can totally wear to my library job, I loved the book marks (they feature Paper Towns Quotes) and the little coffee sleeve was a great touch. Looking forward to what they come up with for August (MY BIRTHDAY MONTH!)

harper

 

And finally Harper Collins Canada were super lovely enough to send me advance copies of What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler  and A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis. Both of them sound absolutely fantastic and equally horrifying. Except reviews for both of them on the blog soon.

And that was everything I got in my mail box for the month of July. Did you get any awesome reads in the mail? Have you read any of these beauties above? If so, let me know, I’d be curious about your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

