ARC Review – Truest by Jackie Lea Sommers

23879893Title: Truest

Author: Jackie Lea Sommers

Rating:  ★★★★

Synopsis: Silas Hart has seriously shaken up Westlin Beck’s small-town life. Brand new to town, Silas is different than the guys in Green Lake. He’s curious, poetic, philosophical, maddening– and really, really cute. But Silas has a sister– and she has a secret. And West has a boyfriend. And life in Green Lake is about to change forever.

Huge thank you to the publisher for sending me an advanced copy of this book!

River’s Review: 

It seems that when I go into a book with low expectations I like it a lot more than I probably would have. Not only did I think this book was MG, I have two friends who don’t like it much so… I wasn’t really expecting to get into it. While the writing was a little difficult for me at times, and the story a little predictable, I ended up engaged in this and enjoyed it.

There were a couple of things that I didn’t particularly like in this story. One was the slight bit of cheating. It’s Anna and the French Kiss cheating. The other was that Silas and his sister was such manicpixiedreamkids. Is that a word? It is now. I know that they were both supposed to be alluring and ethereal and just plain different, but it was a little too forced. And a little too boring because of it. I understood that Laurel had her problems, and I actually enjoyed that part of the story, it was strange and different. But the Elliot vs Silas part was annoying to me, and the Silas as the dream boy was a bit cliched.

But I did like the flow of this story. I liked the mix of religion and how it was not preachy at all. The father was maddening, the mother a shell, and I just felt bad for the whole family. I loved that West was drawn into Silas and Laurel’s world. I liked watching West grow and learn new things about herself. I grew up in a small town where you were expected to do what was well… expected of you. Marry your high school sweetheart. Go to a local school. Become a school teacher or work at the bank. West never saw herself as NOT doing any of those things, but she never saw herself really doing much of… anything. She had her best friend and her boyfriend, and if she hadn’t met Silas she would have just stayed put. She wouldn’t have grown. And I liked that she grew in this story.

As I said, the writing took a little getting used to. It’s not bad, but it’s a bit detached and I didn’t slip into it until a bit later in the story, once things got moving. I think it tries to match the feeling of Silas and Laurel and that was a little jolting at first. But like I said, it’s not bad. I also wonder how much of it had to do with my thoughts about it being MG at first.

This book is a difficult one for me to put my finger on. As I said, I did enjoy it. There were some really fun parts and some really touching moments. I sadly saw the end coming and thus comes the predictability. I would have liked a few more answers, maybe a few more allusions towards what really happened, but I can appreciate the ambiguity of it.

3 thoughts on “ARC Review – Truest by Jackie Lea Sommers

  1. Creatyvebooks

    Great post and review. I really want to read this one but reviews are all over the place. Some like and some just hate it. I think this is a book that will borrow instead of buy. Does it have romance in it? Does the romance overshadow everything else in the book?

    Reply
    1. river

      Thank you! The romance is actually a huge part of it. It’s hit or miss I guess. There were parts of it that I liked as long as I didn’t think about it too much but then the harder I thought and the more the ‘writer’ in me picked it apart the more I began to find faults. Def. a borrow book.

      Reply
      1. Creatyvebooks

        Same. Not really into romance all that much. I find that if the romance isn’t the focal point I tend to enjoy the book better. Or if it’s the slow burn type of romance. I hate insta-love. Still want to read the book but I will def borrow it from the library.

Leave a Reply

