ARC Review – The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

23346358Title:  The Accident Season

Author: Moïra Fowley-Doyle

Rating:  ★★★★

Synopsis: It’s the accident season, the same time every year. Bones break, skin tears, bruises bloom. 
The accident season has been part of seventeen-year-old Cara’s life for as long as she can remember. Towards the end of October, foreshadowed by the deaths of many relatives before them, Cara’s family becomes inexplicably accident-prone. They banish knives to locked drawers, cover sharp table edges with padding, switch off electrical items – but injuries follow wherever they go, and the accident season becomes an ever-growing obsession and fear.

But why are they so cursed? And how can they break free?

Huge thank you to Penguin/Random House for sending me an ARC of this book!

River’s Review:

The writing in this book is BEAUTIFUL guys. When I was reading it I kept having to pause and re-read parts because the rhythm of it all was just that wonderful. I had to stop after awhile or I never would have finished it. It’s poetic.

I am also discovering that I really enjoy magical realism. Earlier this year I read and LOVED Bone Gap, so when I saw people comparing the two I knew that I HAD to read this book. And while I did like this a lot, it wasn’t The Bone Gap for me. But I love how magical realism plays with my head. How I’m trying to figure out what’s real and what’s not. To try to place things and then to let them all go and fall as they’re meant to be.

This is a story about a family. With secrets. And mysteries. Every year at the end of October they all suddenly become accident prone. Bumps, bruises, torn flesh, broken bones. Some people die. Some things are accident. And some… are not. The accident season hides the intentional. One sister, Alice, doesn’t even believe there is an accident season. And when you find out what happened to her, what happens to her, it’s easy to understand why she thinks it’s a lot of shit. And it’s really left up to the reader to determine if the accident season is real or not.

This is also a story about a ghost. A girl remembered and not. A girl who haunts the family, our main character, and her friend. A girl who suddenly appears and disappears. Another mystery.

I loved the atmosphere of this book and think it would have been the BEST book to read in October. There’s a huge Halloween party and a scary old house and a ghost. A curse. Mischief and mayhem. I would have loved to have read this curled up in a hoodie some dark stormy night. So do that if you can. It’ll just add to the overall effect.

5 thoughts on “ARC Review – The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

  1. citygirlscapes

    Oh man, I read about this book a little while ago and thought it sounded so interesting. I’m so excited to read your review for it, excited that it was actually a good book. I’m going to have to pick it up. Thank you for the review! And for the introduction to Bone Gap, looking into that right away as well. – Ashley

    Reply
  2. aentee @ read at midnight

    I’ve been hearing so many great things about this book! Magical realism meets lyrical writing is exactly my kind of thing! Great review, I’ll definitely look into my library to get it out 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

