ARC Review – Another Day (Every Day #2) by David Levithan

23923007Title:  Another Day (Every Day #2)

Author: David Levithan

Rating:  ★★

Synopsis: In this enthralling companion to his New York Times bestseller Every Day, David Levithan (co-author of Will Grayson, Will Grayson with John Green) tells Rhiannon’s side of the story as she seeks to discover the truth about love and how it can change you.

Every day is the same for Rhiannon. She has accepted her life, convinced herself that she deserves her distant, temperamental boyfriend, Justin, even established guidelines by which to live: Don’t be too needy. Avoid upsetting him. Never get your hopes up.

Until the morning everything changes. Justin seems to see her, to want to be with her for the first time, and they share a perfect day—a perfect day Justin doesn’t remember the next morning. Confused, depressed, and desperate for another day as great as that one, Rhiannon starts questioning everything. Then, one day, a stranger tells her that the Justin she spent that day with, the one who made her feel like a real person . . . wasn’t Justin at all.

Huge thank you to Knopf Books for Young Readers and Netgalley for this ARC!

Sam’s Review:

I am going to be in the minority here, but I didn’t want to see a Rhiannon story made. I thought Every Day was such a unique enough experience and that A’s perspective worked so well given it was about transformation. Still, I was curious about this and requested it any ways. As expected, it didn’t add very much toEvery Day, and while I get that it’s a companion, I didn’t feel like having events told from Rhiannon’s perspective were at all interesting, nor difference really.

I liked Rhiannon in Every Day, but in this novel she read so flatly, de-voided of any personality or any way to make a reader’s connection. I wanted to feel connected to her, but I couldn’t make it. Furthermore, I disliked her group of friends, and Justin once again drove me up the wall, but I feel like she stays with these people for really stupid reasons. These characters just lacked any sort of spark, and it made for such a tough reading experience because I feel like Rhiannon’s side of this story feels so empty and dull. There needs to be something that grabs the reader’s attention, and Rhiannon is just too shallow and bland a character for the story to feel like it has legs to stand on.

When the book was about her relationship with A and her meetings, those were still fascinating to read about. I still enjoyed the e-mail exchanges and the scene where A begs Rhiannon to come and help out this one girl still got me the way it did in Every Day. But I needed more of this and less about Rhiannon’s boring school adventures with crummy and uninteresting people, and that weighed more heavily than what I was wanting or expecting. At the end of the day even if I didn’t want this story, there’s a part of me that wishes it had been better than what I actually read — I didn’t want to be disappointed, just proven wrong.

Another Day was such a miss for me — it lacked the charm and presentation of Every Day that kept that book’s perspective unique and interesting to read. I generally love David Levithan’s stories, but Another Day was such a boring experience, and when it had highs of interesting moments, they were completely few and far between.

One thought on “ARC Review – Another Day (Every Day #2) by David Levithan

  1. Amy Couttas

    I was the same way – I loved Every Day and was happy with it being a stand alone, I wasn’t to excited when I heard about Another Day. I want to read it but at the same time the thing that made Every Day so bloody amazing was A and I think the lack of A in Another Day will just be a let down.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

