ARC Review – Switch (Savvy #3) by Ingrid Law

24611857Title:  Switch (Savvy #3)

Author: Ingrid Law

Rating:  ★★★ 1/2

Synopsis: Gypsy Beaumont has always been a whirly-twirly free spirit, so as her thirteenth birthday approaches, she hopes to get a magical ability that will let her fly, or dance up to the stars. Instead, she wakes up on her birthday with blurry vision . . . and starts seeing flashes of the future and past. But when Momma and Poppa announce that her very un-magical, downright mean Grandma Pat has Alzheimer’s and is going to move in with them, Gypsy’s savvy—along with her family’s—suddenly becomes its opposite. Now it’s savvy mayhem as Gypsy starts freezing time, and no one could have predicted what would happen on their trip to bring Grandma Pat home  . . . not even Gypsy.
Huge thank you to Penguin Canada for this ARC!

Sam’s Review:

This was an unexpected title that came in one of the packages I had received. If I’m being frank, I didn’t know about Ingrid Law’sSavvy series, so I felt a bit odd reading this third instalment. However, I was assumed that I should be okay reading this without having read the first to, and that statement is quite true. However, for me, having not read the prior books, there were a few things I felt like I was missing out on.

The heroine in this story, Gypsy, can see both the past and future. It’s a pretty terrifying ability for a young girl, especially one as free-spirited and kind as Gypsy is. Furthermore, she has a grandmother who is not exactly friendly and is scarred by something in her past. Gypsy and her siblings don’t particularly care for the grandmother because she’s quote, “mean” and I get that considering her behaviour in the story.

While there’s a larger adventure at play in this story, the best parts of it were Gypsy trying to come to terms with her grandmother’s behaviour. It’s kind of rough and sad to read at times because Gypsy understands where her siblings are coming from in their dislike of their grandmother, and yet there’s also a part of her that feels like the behaviour is inexcusable. I’ll give Gypsy credit, she doesn’t let her grandmother get away with her behaviour for very long, but she also becomes very empathetic when she starts to put the pieces together. I also really dug the savvy (magical) elements of the story, and I thought they were a nice touch given the setting is a real world story with magical elements.

Overall, I really liked the characters and thought the story was very cute and entertaining. However, I did feel lost at times because I felt like there were parts of the world building that were already established and since this is my first book I’m reading in the series, it left me a little confused. However, given the content here, it does make me want to check out the first two books, because I do think Ingrid Law’s writing is quite delightful. If you have a middle grader who has a love of magic and digs a fun adventure, this may be for you.

Leave a Reply

