Five Books I Am Hyped For After #FrenzyPresents

A few weeks back I had the chance to attend an event at Harper Collins Canada’s office. It was an event to share some of the upcoming titles for Fall and Winter. It was a fantastic meet up, as there were tons of bloggers to meet, food to eat (and encourage certain people that it’s totes cool to eat said free food, donuts FTW guys!), and people to chat with. I got to do Dumplin’ poses! See for yourself!

dumplin

Crazy thank you to Shelly of Read. Sleep. Repeat for taking the photo. I look like a dork!

groupphoto

Group shot! Photo credit: @HCCFrenzy

Rather than discuss every single book I learned about at the event. I thought I’d share with you the five that stood out to me and why I am stoked for them. Shall we begin?

#1: Worlds of Ink and Shadow by Lena Coakley (Release Date: January 6th, 2016)

25818163

Yes, it’s a novel about the Brontes. Weirdly, I am not the biggest Bronte fan, but Lena Coakley discussed her book during the event, and she made me a fan of her interpretation of the sisters. Also this book features Anne! The best Bronte (in my books). It sounds like a fantastic mystery, wrapped into an interesting twist on the history of the Brontes, and that to me sounds like a ton of fun.

#2: A Madness So Discreet
by Mindy McGinnis (Release Date: October 6th, 2015)

24376529

My co-blogger is a huge Mindy McGinnis fan, and I am realizing I need to actually read something by her to understand River’s love for her. This book sounds amazing because it features Sherlock Holmes-style mysteries, an insane asylum, and a wonderfully messed up sounding heroine. I was fortunate enough to get an ARC of this before the event, and I cannot wait to read it because it sounds right up my alley.

#3: This Is Where the World Ends
by Amy Zhang (Release Date: March 22nd, 2016)

24039424

Last year, both River and Melissa yelled at me. They screamed “Sam, you need to read Falling Into Place RIGHT NOW.” I told them I was busy, they persisted, so I finally gave in and decided I needed to see what the hubbub was about. Holy crap, you guys, Falling Into Place was amazing, as it was messed up. I should have listened to those two sooner, they know how much I love crappy people being crappy in stories. However, this book intrigues, not just because it’s Amy Zhang’s next book, but because the premise sounds so interesting to me: a personal apocalypse type story of  love, life, and disappearance. Plus it features tough issues — one of my favourite things in YA. Can’t wait to see what Amy Zhang writes next.

#4: A Step Towards Falling by Cammie McGovern (Release Date: October 6th, 2015)

24605853

“Sometimes the worst thing you can do is nothing” is the tagline for Cammie McGovern’s second novel. Sounds intriguing, right? This book features issues surrounding disability, community service, and what it means to be someone who could have prevented something from happening, and chose not to. We’ve all done this in some shape or form, so I am expecting a little self reflection with this one. I haven’t read Say What You Will yet, but I know it was a book River quite adored last year. Excited!

#5: Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy (Release Date: September 15th, 2015)

18304322

It’s no secret that I want to read Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy. I LOVED Side Effects May Vary and found that book to be pretty powerful in parts, but I feel like Dumplin’ may have the edge over that one with it’s large focus on body image and self-love. We actually will have a review for this one coming closer to release, as River read it and basically told me I needed to believe the hype of this one. During the event Suman, one of Harper Collins’ representatives stated that this is one of her new favourite reads simply because of how strong, clear and powerful the message is. Sign me up!

arcs

ARCs in the goodie bag: Making Pretty, The Rest of Us Just Live Here, and A Step Towards Falling

So these are the five books I am super hyped for after going to #FrenzyPresents. I want to thank Harper Collins Canada for giving me the opportunity to attend the event, and to all the amazing bloggers who spoke with me and shared their favourite reads, and what they were most excited for. It was quite the delight. Seriously, what HarperTeen books are you excited that coming out soon? Let me know in the comments!


worldofink

FANGIRL SQUEEEEEEEEEE!

Leave a Reply

