September TBR Shelf Challenge

A few weeks back I decided to count how many unread books I had. It wasn’t looking good: 219 (and I’m sure this doubled after my little trip to Book Outlet) unread books. I have a book case and half of unread books, and I decided that since I’ve been so good with catching up on my coming due ARCs, I’d use September to focus more specifically on my personal books. With eight shelves of unread books, I asked my co-blogger to pick a number. She picked seven and here’s the shelf I will be tackling for the month of September:

shelfchallenge

Excuse the dog bed in front of my shelf! But yes, this is one of my hardcover shelves that also have some oversized paperbacks as well. Every week on my Twitter (follow @merrygodown for more antics) I’d share my progress of how much of the shelf I’ve chipped away at. Since I have a long commute to my library job, I’m hoping to get quite a chunk of this shelf read. I also made the decision that if it’s not something I want to keep after I read it, I am going to put it in my donation bag. We’ll see how I do! See anything in the picture that I need to read right away? Let me know in the comments.

With this challenge as comes two other things: I am going on a book buying ban for… as long as I can. I have been receiving a lot of books lately and while I won’t stop the publisher stuff (I like keeping relations!), but me personally buying things is definitely happening for sure. The other thing is: I am going on a library book ban. This is going to be hilarious considering I start working at a public library next week. Let’s all have a good laugh here. Girl’s gotta try though, and if it means I can get through a whack of books and donate the ones I don’t want to lend or reread, then this is a good thing for me.

If you want to participate along with me for the month, use the hashtag #SeptShelfathon and work your way through a shelf of books! This also pairs nicely with the fact that RYBSAT Round 6 (Read Your Bookshelf-a-Thon) is happening towards the end of the month. I hope some of you will participate with me so we can widdle our TBRs down a bit more!

 

2 thoughts on “September TBR Shelf Challenge

  1. Michelle

    This is such a good idea and I really want to do this with you but I have too many review/buddy read books I have to read this month so maybe another time. I will be following your journey though in seeing how far you get on your shelf. Goodluck 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Book Riot’s 2015 Read Harder Challenge — Update #8 & Other Challenges | Cherry Blossoms & Maple Syrup

Leave a Reply

