ARC Review – Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa

24039396Title: Fans of the Impossible Life

Author: Kate Scelsa

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: This is the story of a girl, her gay best friend, and the boy in love with both of them. Ten months after her recurring depression landed her in the hospital, Mira is starting over as a new student at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to act like a normal, functioning human this time around, not a girl who sometimes can’t get out of bed for days on end, who only feels awake when she’s with Sebby.

Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis who’s been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn it’s as if he’s been expecting this blond, lanky boy with a mischievous glint in his eye.

Sebby, Mira’s gay best friend, is a boy who seems to carry sunlight around with him like a backlit halo. Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and secret road trips, designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.

As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira’s world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don’t understand their quest to live for the impossible.

Huge thank you to HarperCollins for sending me a review copy of this book!

River’s Review:


Oh my goodness this book was SO good. I feel that I must say that this isn’t really the bi-sexual love triangle that everyone seems to think it is, but that was okay for me since I’m not huge into love triangles of any kind.

What I was actually most worried about going into this book was that it’s told in three POVs. And each one is told in a different person (first, second and third). I did find that Sebby’s second person portions were the most uncomfortable, but I also feel that they were SUPPOSED to be. Sebby is probably the one that is having the most difficult time out of the three of them. He also puts himself in the most uncomfortable situations. Mira’s parts were told in third person and I feel like that also fit because her mind was too much of a mess for first person and being held outside of her was actually more helpful to see what was really happening. And Jeremy’s first person portions were great because he was so locked inside of himself that he couldn’t get out and we could only see from his point of view. I don’t know, I know a lot of people wont like/ don’t like the shifts in POV, but for me this worked really well.

I loved the characters in this book. From the very start Sebby had me charmed, Mira had me curious and Jeremy… oh I just wanted to hug him and protect him from the world. They’re all struggling with their own demons and not always dealing with them in the healthiest ways, but they’re trying. And by the end you do see their strengths and growth and you can’t help but cheer them on.

I loved how diverse this book is. There are people of color, people with different sexualities, and it’s all just so damn natural. Never once was any of this an OMG! moment. Never once was something pointed out. Everything was just natural and normal and it was a nice world to exist in.

I feel like if you can get past the POVs then you’ll really enjoy this book.

2 thoughts on “ARC Review – Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa

  1. Amy Couttas

    I am so excited to get to this!!! I’m glad to hear it’s not a bi love triangle I thought it was and then I was hoping it wasn’t going to be annoying!! That’s so interesting about the first, second and third person I’ve never read a book that did that! I can’t wait!!

    Reply
  2. cwreads

    Wow, this sounds hella awesome. I need more diverse books in my life, and this looks like something that’ll help satisfy that need. 🙂 I actually enjoy reading books with multiple POVs, so maybe I will enjoy this. 😀

    Thanks for the great review!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

