Five Books I Am Hyped For After #TeensReadFeed

On Saturday, I had the opportunity to go to an event hosted by Raincoast Canada. For those of you who don’t know, Raincoast is the distributor for publishers such as Macmillan, Sourcebooks, and many others. At this event, we were introduced to over twenty titles for the upcoming Winter and Spring season. Let me tell you — there’s some great looking stuff coming. I thought it would be fun to share the top five books from the event I am most excited for.

#1: Gena/Finn by Kat Helgeson & Hannah Moskowitz (Release Date: February 23rd 2016 by Chronicle Books)

Sooooo… my most anticipated book from the event doesn’t actually have a cover yet. However, that is OK! Want to know why this my most anticipated read? Because it focuses on friendship, fandoms, fanficition and it’s going to be written in a multimedia format. I love stories about friendship, and I equally love how fandoms how the power to bring people together. Needless to say, this was the book I came out of the event wanting the most!

#2: The Art of Being Normal
by Lisa Williamson (Release Date: May 31st 2016 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

25689042

I’m always looking for new and interesting LGBTQIA reads, and this one sounds like something I’d completely adore. It focuses on a young boy who wants to be a girl, and the unlikely friendship it sparks when he is saved from the school bully. This book looks like it will tackle a lot of different issues, and a message of what it means to be true to yourself. Looks wonderful and heartfelt, and I cannot wait!

#3: How It Ends
by Catherine Lo  (Release Date: June 7th 2016 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

22608764

Another book that just sounds sad and mysterious. Written by a Canadian author, this book looks like it will focus on secrets, friendship, how secrets can affect a friendship in ways that might tear it apart. Really excited to see how this book is going to go down, because itis vague premise really has me intrigued.

#4: Riders (Riders #1)
by Veronica Rossi (Release Date: February 16th 2016 by Tor Teen)

23430471

It is so great to see a new Veronica Rossi YA novel. I was a slow convert to her Under the Never Sky series. It was one of those situations where the first book didn’t impress me and then all of a sudden I chose to kept going and it turned out to be a much more rewarding series than I initially gave it credit for. This book is about the Four Horseman of the Apocalypse, and that alone makes me want it. UNDEAD PONIES.

#5: These Vicious Masks
by Tarun Shanker & Kelly Zekas (Release Date:  February 9th 2016 by Swoon Reads)

23688792

Jane Austen meets X-Men? Yes, you heard me, that alone piqued my interest during yesterday’s discussion. Not only did it confuse the heck out of me, but the book sounds utterly ridiculous and charming. Due to those two factors, I feel like my expectations might be way too high on this one, BUT JANE AUSTEN MEETS X-MEN YOU GUYS. ALL THE HYPE!

And then here’s what I got in my swag bag! (Minus the Kate Beaton book, I admit, I bought that)

books

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

In Real Life by Jessica Love

Honestly, I didn’t know much about either, and ended up trading with some other bloggers at the event for these. Excited to see if I’ll like either of them (both look like something I’d enjoy).

COucm4LUEAAn0EW

Everyone who attended! (Photo curtsey of Vanessa Di Gregorio from Raincoast Books & ampersand inc)

Once again I want to thank to Raincoast Canada for allowing me the opportunity to see all their new upcoming titles. I want to thank all the bloggers I met for great conversation, and also Melissa Pellegrin for being a standup hostess for the events in both TO and Vancouver. I seriously cannot wait for all these upcoming titles, because even though I only focused on five, there’s a ton worth checking out.

 

Leave a Reply

